1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2009 150k miles for a mechanical layman

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Redbot, Jan 1, 2020.

1. Redbot

Redbot New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm a city dweller who has never owned a car, but am considering buying my first. I read on carcomplaints that the 2009 is the most reliable Prius ever made. I found a couple '09s with ~150k miles and no accident history for ~$4500 - $5000.

My budget allows up to $12,000, but I'd prefer to save some money and get a car that's already depreciated. I plan on driving less than 5k miles per year.

I enjoy fixing things (washing machines, phones, etc.) and can follow video tutorials, but I have zero experience fixing cars.

I realize the hybrid battery on any '09 prius is nearing its end, so I'll set aside $2k for a replacement. Is there any other major expense I should consider? Is an older car a good idea for a newbie like me, or should I spend more for something new?

#1 Redbot, Jan 1, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2020
    PriusCamper likes this.
  2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Redbot likes this.
  3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Does that show the service history? There's some very conciensious DIY owner's really on top of maintenance, also doing things Toyota doesn't recommend, transaxle fluid change for example. Not sure where I'm going with this, maybe: yeah check the service history, but also check the car, talk directly to the owner if possible.

Tough question. With no automotive experience, I'd lean towards new purchase.

4. Kaptainkid1

Kaptainkid1 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    III