1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2009 or 2010 for hill driving?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by hill driver, May 14, 2009.

1. hill driver

hill driver New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am new to his forum and don't have a Prius yet, but I think it would be a great car choice for us. I live in the San Francisco bay area and one of the activities I'd like to use the Prius for is to drive my family of four to the Lake Tahoe area, in both summer and winter. This means travelling on I-80 from basically sea level to almost 7000 feet. I would like to buy a 2008 or 2009, but I'm concerned that I need the added horsepower that the 2010 offers. Any thoughts? Thank you in advance.

2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Certainly the current Prius is adequate as we have had several members here that have taken the Prius up to Lake Tahoe. That being said, I'm sure the extra power in the 2010 model (plus the PWR MODE) would be appreciated esp. with a full load of people.

3. ggood

ggood Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Being from SF, you'd probably also appreciate having the hill hold feature in the 2010. Allows you to disengage the parking brake and do an extended pump on the regular brake that then holds the car in place for 3 seconds while you shift to the accelerator.

4. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    2020! Yup, go for that.

The upgrade from a 50kW to 60kW electric motor, combined with more power from the battery-pack, will provide even more oophm off the line... which is handy on hills. Sustained power will benefit from the larger engine... which is handy too.

That extra power isn't necessary, but you will like having it.

5. yardman 49