1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2009 Prius All Brake Lights on. No RR Brake

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Jirons, Jun 13, 2023.

1. Jirons

Jirons New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello All,
    Working on my brother's 2009 Toyota Prius with about 260,000 miles on it. iIt is experiencing some braking issues and I'm stumped.

I'd say I'm pretty handy, been working on cars all my life, and I'm a mechanical engineer for Honda, but I just can't outsmart this car. Lol

The brakes seemed to be very weak, long stopping distance, very bad pedal feel. So my brother and dad took the liberty of trying to bleed the right rear brake without using any tech stream software or anything. Now all of the brake lights are on, and the right rear brake is unresponsive. with the vehicle lifted up, and the pedal depressed the other 3 are locked and the rear right just spins free.

I've gotten a copy of Toyota Techstream and looked for faults on the vehicle's computer. I've never used software like this, so if this isn't all of the info you need. please ask. but the faults on the vehicle are as follows;

Engine and ECT
    P0420
    P0560
    ABS/VSC/TRAC
    C1242
    C1253
    C1256
    C1343
    C1377

I thought there may be an issue with wheel speed sensors because the ABS tends to be driven based on wheel speed, so i took the car for a test drive and logged the wheel speed, and the voltage output from the pressure transducers on each corner, and found that all of the wheel speed sensors are working, but the pressure transducer for the RR reads a constant value the whole time. could be from no pressure, or a faulty sensor. But when the bleed screw is opened only a slow drip comes out.