1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010=50MPG 2012=38MPG?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by BigDaddy4K, Jan 19, 2015.

1. BigDaddy4K

BigDaddy4K New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    [First post, so bear with me.]

Until this morning, I had a 2010 Prius Two which I've driven 145K miles (and loved). Over that time, the displayed MPG was typically in the 48-51 MPG range. I went to buy a used 2012 Prius Four this afternoon (with 31K miles) and was ready to sign on the dotted line, but noticed that the Trip A (with 600 miles) had a reported MPG of 38!

I'm not an expert (nor a hypermiler), but I've never seen a displayed MPG that low on my Prius (when averaged over say at least 50 miles). The car (clean CarFax) is at a dealer so I don't know how it was driven previously.

Should I run away from this car (because 38 indicates something is seriously wrong somewhere) or buy it (because the price is right) and there is some logical explanation for the low MPG (only driven to church a mile away on Sundays)?

As a somewhat-scientific test, I reset the trip, drove 5.6 miles in the car (42MPG), then went next door and test drove a 2015 Prius Three the same route (39MPG). Both cars were cold, the 2015 brand new (1 mile on the odometer and colder than the 2012). Generally I'd say those two MPGs were comparable (given the traffic conditions, short distance and 40 degree weather), so that makes me think the car is okay.

Was there a software change between 2010 and 2012 model years that would explain this difference?

Puzzled in NJ.

2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Other drivers, other conditions, and repeated short trips (especially on a used car lot) could give it a low trip mpg. I'd ignore that, and use your personal results as a better guide.