2010 JBL Base radio to 2012 Base touchscreen non-JBL head unit

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by bequa, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. bequa

    bequa Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Tbilisi, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all,

    I did not find anything about this but I think its pretty interesting and demanding.

    I got 2010 Prius with JBL audio + Bluetooth handsfree but no touchscreen/backup camera :(

    My goal is:
    0. OEM Look, OEM equipment
    1. Touchscreen/colour display head unit
    2. install backup camera
    3. already wired bluetooth handsfree working
    4. already wired JBL audio + amp working
    5. would be great if trip information/consumption will be displayed

    Thinking to get 2012 base touchscreen head unit and make all the wiring to work.

    What you think? Anyone has done this particular upgrade?

    here are connections:
    my 2010 JBL + bluetooth handsfree - non - touchscreen head unit
    2010.jpg 2010 base jbl front.jpg

    upgrading to:

    2012 non-JBL + bluetooth handsfree + touchscreen + camera possibility
    2012.jpg 2012 base non-jbl front.jpg


    Thanks all for your interesting input in advance.
    If nobody has done it yet, I'll try to be the first to do it and make some write up about it.
     
  2. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,726
    2,349
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    You can see from the connectors that the answer is No. Every single connector on the rear of those units are different, except for the blue square connector. So you won't be able to just plug in.

    At a minimum, you will need to create some harnesses. You'll need the pin-outs of both units to see what's common, and then create your harness pin-out. It still probably won't work perfectly, because the CAR and SETUP buttons on the Touchscreen unit is designed to display all sorts of info related to the car, which your Prius probably isn't wired to support. For example, on my Prius, that button will configure all sorts of car-related stuff, like enable/disable daytime running lights, view fuel consumption information, etc. The FM antenna connectors are different... that looks like it's going to be a pain, unless someone manufactures a converter.

    To try to summarize:
    1) Perfect fit: Yes, I think so
    2) Radio: Yes, if you find an antenna adapter that fits the new unit
    3) Amplifier support: I have no idea. You should research this.
    4) Bluetooth microphone support: Probably
    5) Backup camera: I have no idea
    6) Steering wheel buttons: Maybe
    7) Car configuration controls: I doubt it, but maybe.

    In my opinion, I would not do this unless you find someone who's gone through it. I've done this installation, with a Kenwood. Here is what I think:

    1) Third party systems are very easy to install. Most of the work is soldering up a good harness on your bench.
    2) There's a Prius faceplate that looks a lot better than the Metra brand, but it's opening is a little large so you need to block it well. But then it looks really good. I attached a photo of my install. Note the little "wings" which fill in the Kenwood unit.
    3) Running he bluetooth microphone is quite easy to do.
    4) Running the backup camera is as big a project as the entire installation. It's do-able, but you have to remove a huge amount of trim pieces in the rear of your car, then install the camera (easy), then run a cable from your dash, down to your door sills, through the back seat, through more trim, up to the top center of the hatch, through a very delicate rubber tube into the hatch (use a filament from a weed whacker to thread the cable through), down the side of the hatch, to the camera location. I uploaded a photo I took in the middle of my installation which will give you some idea. It isn't difficult in the way that replacing a piston ring is difficult, but there are tons of plastic pieces to remove. If you have a large, clean space where you can keep all of these bits organized, it will help a lot.


    You will find a lot of good info in this thread, which I mentioned before.
     

    Attached Files:

    #2 Rebound, Feb 22, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  3. bequa

    bequa Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    26
    11
    0
    Location:
    Tbilisi, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hey Rebound,

    Why so pessimistic ? :))
    Thank you for providing information, I know it requires pinouts and rewiring,
    My concern for now is points 4. and 5. the rest I think is achievable .

    Come on guys, anyone has done something like this?
     
  4. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,726
    2,349
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Oh. I thought you were asking if it could just plug right in.
    We need to find the pin-outs of both units.
     
  5. ddoggphx

    ddoggphx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    6
    4
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Curious if you have accomplished this....
     
  6. shota_GEO

    shota_GEO New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    2
    1
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hey .
    I also want to change the audio on the 2010 Prius. and i want to install oem navigation 2012 prius. I have now JBL audio, and navigation also is JBL. can i install back camera and connect jbl audio . i want to make like original :) s-l1600 (1).jpg s-l1600 (2).jpg s-l1600 (3).jpg s-l1600.jpg
     
  7. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,726
    2,349
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I think you'll be better off installing a third party unit, like an Alpine, Sony, Kenwood, or Pioneer. There's a sticky thread that explains how to order the plastic trim piece for a good fit.
     
  8. shota_GEO

    shota_GEO New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    2
    1
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I think should not be there more modules, blocks, as i see there is all in navigation, so i think it will not be difficult to connect

    I need a circuit (sxeme) in 2012 Prius
    to connect each connection wire
     
    Ricky tann likes this.
  9. Ricky tann

    Ricky tann New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes. It's doable. Sorry if I'm late to this realization.
    I just converted mine. Everything works fine except for the nav... ( need an antenna) . And the hands free phone, ( still scratching head )....
     

    Attached Files:

  10. FrankB

    FrankB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    111
    50
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    When I was researching this I found this antenna but have not tried the swap yet.
     
  11. frodoz737

    frodoz737 Top Wrench

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    4,294
    2,312
    33
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Just about anything "can" be done. This is an old topic looked at extensively by many here with the GEN III sound and sound/nav systems. The overall conclusion then...and still is...it's not worth the returns on money and time for product. Aftermarket is so much better and easier. My example (see media) is upper end, but you can scale to budget. Also see spiderman's sticky.

    frodoz737 | PriusChat
    2010 Toyota Prius model II Head Unit Upgrade | PriusChat
     
    #11 frodoz737, Sep 8, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2017
  12. samtheman7

    samtheman7 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    18
    3
    6
    Location:
    irvine CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    hello, did you ever figured out the hands-free phone problem, I have the same issue!
     
  13. Ivo

    Ivo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi Ricky, Sorry to bring back this old topic, but did you have to create your own harness? Did you have to get the pin wiring diagrams for each unit, in order to accomplish this? Did you install a reverse camera?
    Thanks!
    Ivo
     
  14. CursedScarab

    CursedScarab New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2021
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II

    Were you able to figure this out? I have a base 2010 Prius radio and a 2012 radio I want to swap. And I'm trying to install an OEM back up camera aswell
     
Loading...