1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 prius base Model Won't turn on at all

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by black07inla, Feb 28, 2017.

1. black07inla

black07inla Junior Member

I'll start by stating I'm a very praticed backyard mechanic with much knowledge and tools.

I bought this 2010 that had a salvage title that was wrecked in the front end... primarily

the drivers side. They did a fairly good rebuild and paid less than 50% of NADA.

The car has appox 100K miles on it. It suffers from excess oil useage but that's not why I'm here.

Recently I ran into a no start dead battery situation. The low power (12v) battery had only 6.7 V.

So I said no problem bad battery. But that wasn't it. there was something running underneath the

hood drawing down the battery (stuck relay?). When the relay would let loose the car would jump to

12.8V and would start and run fine. This is an intermittent problem. Only happens sometimes. The relay

would stick and it maybe 10 seconds or it maybe 10 minutes or 10 hours. I am unable to get it into

stuck mode for diagnosis so it's very hard to diagnose and trouble shoot. While dead I have pulled

all the relays under the hood (fuse box) as well as the integrated relay and checked for burned or

bent connectors. checked the PCM connectors. All seem fine. Now that I'm writing this I didn't

check to see if disconnecting the integrated relay would break the stuck relay issue. I guess I

should try that the next time it stick. (DUH)

Symptoms:The horn was a problem prior to this no start issue coming up.

The horn was not working. Replaced the clock spring and checked out all wiring. When

the horn is connected it chirps like a machine gun on steroids (bad relay?) I searched and searched for

the horn relay and apparently it's built into an "integrated relay" in the fuse box under the hood.