1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 Prius Climate Control temp not changing

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Steven.P, Sep 7, 2015.

1. Steven.P

Steven.P New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi all, I sure hope someone can help me out with this. The buttons to change the temperature in my 2010 Prius don't do a thing... The temperature is cool-ish as long as you have the AC turned on, and stays the exact same as you increase the temperature until you get to 85 and it maxes out, then it starts to get warm. As soon as you go to 84, it's cool again. I called Toyota and they had no idea what was going on but I'm sure it'll cost a ton to diagnose. Anyone have experience with this before?

2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Would those be the console buttons, the steering wheel buttons, or both?

(No, I have no experience with this issue.)

3. Steven.P

Steven.P New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Both. Changing the temperature does not change the temperature. The number changes, but the actual air coming out the vents does not change at all.

4. jdcollins5

jdcollins5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    What happens when you lower setpoint all the way down to LO? What does your fan speed do if you have everything in automatic?

5. Steven.P

Steven.P New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    The fan speed continues to run on full blast because the temperature does not go low enough to cool the car down properly. Only slows down once I turn it up to about 72.

6. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    That actually sounds normal.

7. Steven.P

Steven.P New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three