1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 Prius safety

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by jac-ma, Apr 19, 2009.

1. jac-ma

jac-ma New Member

Hi I am new to this Threads and posting thing. Perhaps I am putting this in the wrong place:eek:. But I have been looking and haven’t been able to find any information on the safety of the 2010 Prius :confused:(crash test results fore star five star) is there any information on this any ware and if so please let me know:rockon:. I now have an 07 Avalon and it is very high on the crash test. It is also not to bad on mileage 23 in town and 30 on highway. I would like the mileage of the 2010 Prius but don’t know if it would be worth the money. Also any body heard anything on pricing for them.:help:
    Thanks
    Jack

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Pricing should be out soon...maybe Earth Day.
    AFAIK it has not been crash tested yet, that often doesn't happen until after commercial sales start. That said, it should be exceptionally safe, just as the current model is.

3. jac-ma

jac-ma New Member

Thanks for the info

4. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    It should do well in the crash tests. The current one gets 4 stars for both driver and front passenger in a frontal crash and 5-stars for side impact with the side curtain airbags.

I expect this one to do as well, if not better. There's a little bit more room in the front, ahead of the windshield as well as driver's knee airbags that will reduce the chances of severe injuries to the lower legs for the driver.

5. usbseawolf2000

usbseawolf2000 HSD PhD

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I read about the extra 100 lbs more (despite 60 lbs reduction in the powertrain) due to the extra strength for safety.