1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2010 Prius Trim 5 engine revving on it's own

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by PaulMarshall, Dec 7, 2020.

1. PaulMarshall

PaulMarshall Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It has been doing it frequently the last week. I hear it a lot when I come off the freeway, my foot will be on the brake... nowhere near gas pedal. I've even put it in park at traffic light at when it's doing it and taken foot off all pedals... still does it. Other times the ICE will never shut off even though I'm at full bars on traction battery. when it's doing this it will have a rough loping sound like a cylinder is missing. I do door dash for a living till covid is over, if I go sit in a parking lot and turn the car off for 10 to 15 minutes it starts acting normal again for a while. I just happened to get lucky enough to be getting out of the car last night to get an external video where you can hear the engine idling at around 2500rpm. Usually it's harder to hear on previous videos I tried to capture it on, due to the it being muffled because I was in the car (muffled by cabin insulation). any suggestions? My initial thoughts are ECU malfunctioning. No check engine light or anything have ever lit up though.

I have techstream cable and software just need to round up a laptop that will run windows 7.

Any suggestions as to where to start looking?

Video attached of 1 of the two (over rev). I haven't gotten a video yet of when it's sounds like a cylinder isn't firing.

2. sam spade 2

sam spade 2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Start by being sure that your 12 V battery and it's connections are good. I mean really sure.

Then.....what you are describing often is an early warning sign that there is problem developing with the HV hybrid battery or it's internal connections.

3. PaulMarshall