1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2011 Prius 1 in need of new brake pads and rotors.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by GoggleHat, Aug 29, 2022.

1. GoggleHat

GoggleHat New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I need to switch out my brake pads and rotors. I'm relatively new to owning cars, before this I only had a used 2003 Saturn that ran its course once the transmission was busted. I switched to a Prius because I am determined to avoid fossil fuels as much as I possibly can.

I brought my car to a shop to take a look at what was needed for maintenance, I'm going to need the tires replaced and an alignment. They also recommended I switch out the rotors and brake pads for new ones. I'm not sure how much width is left my brake pads, that could definitely help me make my decision. But I realize that it's a lot cheaper if I buy my own rotors and brake pads then pay them to switch them out (they're asking for over $1,000)

To help me switch out the rotors and brake pads, does anyone have any advice, or a recommended source? What's your experience with this kind of maintenance?

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base