1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2012 Prius 4 with 120,983 Miles

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Basak Durgun, Jun 19, 2017.

1. Basak Durgun

Basak Durgun New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I am a college student looking to purchase a reliable car for school. The car I am looking at has a good carfax with regular service, high miles, and costs 10,000 dollars.

My other option would be a Prius 2 with 86,000 miles for 12,000 dollars.

Alternatively I could lease but I am student without a stable income.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    how much reserve will you have for repairs if necessary? while the prius is pretty reliable unto 150,000+ miles on average, you can read plenty of sad stories here from people who couldn't afford the $3,000. surprise repair bill.

have you considered a lower mile civic , corolla and etc?

N.J.PRIUS and Montgomery like this.
  3. Basak Durgun

Basak Durgun New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Thank you for the recommendation. There is a certified preowned 2013 corolla with 33,000 miles in my price range. It seems like a much safer option in the long run.

Raytheeagle and bisco like this.
  4. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    What year is that one?

Yeah I'd agree.

Whatever you're considering, do a good test drive, listen for unusual sounds when accelerating, uneven braking, steering pull, whatever. Try the AC assuming it's present.