1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2013 Persona - Adding aftermarket heated seats

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Keith Elkin, Oct 25, 2013.

1. Keith Elkin

Keith Elkin Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Persona
    So someone I work with informed me that the heat isn't so great on the Prius and I would really benefit from having heated seats, I found some aftermarket kits for $100-150 per seat which is much cheaper than the $1000 the dealer wants to charge for them. Has anyone here installed aftermarket heated seats on their own? How hard is it to get the Softex seat covers off? I'm a pro with the electrical work and have done some car repairs on my own, I've just never stripped seats of their covers and don't want to take a chance if it's going to be difficult. (If I have to break the stitching and sew them back on, I won't bother.. I like the factory red stitching and sewing is not my thing)
    -Keith

2. Steve terry

Steve terry Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I am thinking of getting clazzeo seat covers and adding thier heated seat pads. Look them up. They have 3 different sets to choose from.

3. Keith Elkin

Keith Elkin Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Persona
    Thanks, I've seen those and others, what I'm curious about is how hard is it to install them on Softex seats? If there's a good chance of ripping or stretching the existing fake leather, then I won't bother with it.. but if peeling back the seat bottom and seat back isn't too difficult then I'll go ahead with it. (I'm not worried about the electrical portion, that's cake for me)

Anyone know if the seats use hog clips or just wire ties/Velcro?
    -Keith

4. Steve terry

Steve terry Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three