1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2013 Prius - speaker upgrade help/questions

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by psteudlein, Dec 27, 2013.

1. psteudlein

psteudlein New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I am a noob with this audio stuff and have read several postings and now have questions.
    I have a 2013 Prius One with non-jBL system. At this time, I just want to upgrade the speakers which I believe I can do...basic stuff.
    I want to just use the stock HU and existing wires and at least replace the front door speakers and maybe the squakers in the dash.
    From my reading I know the front door can be replaced with 6x9s. I get lost when people start talking about 2 or 4ohms. I do like bass but do not need car rattling bass.

Questions:
    1) Do I need to worry about 2ohm or 4ohm when just relplacing those speakers?
    2) For the front door speakers, should I use 2-way or component? One guy said to stick with component for the front doors.
    3) I read on one post that the dash speakers have a high pass filter and then the entire signal goes to the front door speakers, correct?
    4) Can I just replace the dash speakers with any small tweaker speaker and does it need to have its own high pass filter on it? Is it as simple as moving the wires from the old stock speaker to the new one?
    5) Is dynamat worth the cost to put in the front/rear doors?
    6) Will any 6x9 speaker fit in the front door, using the existing bracket/mold or new adapter?

Just a basic new/noob guy trying to make the system sound better.
    Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

2. Skunkworks

Skunkworks Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Honestly I would replace the head unit first, then decide what speakers you want to replace, the stock unit is likely putting out 12 watts of crappy signal...

To answer the rest of the questions.