2014 Prius 3 - Entune won't work (Pandora)

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Erin Galbraith, Sep 6, 2014.

  1. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I just bought a brand new 2014 Toyota Prius 3 and I'm trying to get Pandora to work with my iPhone 5s. No matter what I do, I get an error message that it cannot connect and to make sure the app is running on my device...

    Entune IS running on my iPhone 5s, everything is sync'd, I'm signed in, I'm plugged in (USB), and I continue to get this error. I've exchanged THREE emails with Toyota support and double-checked *everything* they've told me, and I still can't get it to work. Has anyone else had this problem and had any luck getting it to work?

    They told me to take it into the dealership for help but I'm skeptical. I've seriously tried everything. Thought I'd try posting this question and see what you all think. ANY help would be greatly appreciated.

    (Oh, and it's not just Pandora -- it's anything 'web' related. Bluetooth is on and works...)
     
  2. Eclipse1701d

    Eclipse1701d Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    645
    218
    0
    Location:
    Nature coast, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Try with just bluetooth. Disconnect USB. Go to Settings and Bluetooth. Make sure phone is connected for internet.
     
  3. DaneH5

    DaneH5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    464
    60
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    You using a data cable or just a charging one? What iOS is on the phone?
     
    #3 DaneH5, Sep 7, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014
  4. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    What is a "data cable" vs. a charging cable? It's just a regular lightning cable that comes with the phone... I'm not familiar with a data cable? Can you clarify?
     
  5. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    iPhone 5s OS 7.0.3
     
  6. DaneH5

    DaneH5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    464
    60
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    If it is the cable that came with the phone then it should be a data cable. That would be the one to use to sync to a desktop computer for example. A power cable is strictly for charging purposes.

    If you haven't tried to remove and re-install the entune app on the phone, give it a try.
     
  7. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    So here's a big problem: I tried connecting to internet via Bluetooth and I get that same error: "Cannot connect: Make sure Entune app is running on device." Again, IT IS. I've uninstalled and reinstalled Entune twice now with the same result. This is maddening.
     
  8. DaneH5

    DaneH5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    464
    60
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Is yours the standard nav sound unit or the JBL? Who is your cell carrier? Your last post you said you tried to connect to the internet via bluetooth. Did you mean entune? Is your pandora linked in your entune account?
     
  9. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Standard nav sound unit in the vehicle. My cell carrier is Sprint.

    I went to the nav and made sure I was connected via Bluetooth. It's connected for phone & music, but when I tried to connect for internet, I got that error. Yes my Pandora is linked to Entune.
     
  10. DaneH5

    DaneH5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    464
    60
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Does any data apps work like gas prices or weather in entune? Phone show data connection? Can you post a screen print from phone while trying?
     
  11. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    787
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    The iPhone will not work over Bluetooth unless you have a mobile hotspot enabled on your phone.

    Also, others here have reported problems with some USB cables not working properly - is yours the one that came with the phone, or an aftermarket cable? Either way, try the USB connection with a different cable.
     
  12. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Data apps don't seem to work. In Entune (on the phone) what should happen when I click on the different apps? I get to a settings page of some sort, but I don't actually get any data. Should I be? Maybe the problem is with this stupid app itself.
     
  13. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    787
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    The only thing you need to do on the phone is start the app, then connect the phone to the car. You should then get the messages about data use, etc.

    None of the options in the phone app have any effect on the operation of the car's built-in Entune apps.
     
  14. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    OK, thanks. Yeah the app is running, then I connect the data (USB) cable to the car... and get the error. I'll try swapping out the cable for another and see if that helps but I'm not feeling very confident that it will resolve the problem. :/
     
  15. DaneH5

    DaneH5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    464
    60
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Running app on phone should give you access just like through the nav unit. If that isn't working something is wrong. Also data like fuel prices, weather, and traffic are they working on nav unit or not?
    Is your data working on the phone through sprint? Does the phone have pandora app loaded too? Does that work?

    FTL: Why does a mobile hotspot need to be activated? I don't believe that is correct. Completely different thing.
     
  16. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    So, on the phone itself, it looks like the Entune app IS working when I click on an icon (such as fuel prices, weather, movie tickets). That's on the phone itself. That does NOT work on my nav in the car.

    I have Pandora both on Entune and on its own. I can use the Pandora (stand alone app) if I plug in with the aux cable but that sort of defeats the purpose.

    Yes, data is working through Sprint. I'm not having any data problems with my provider.
     
  17. DaneH5

    DaneH5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    464
    60
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    But phone app should work too as a stand a lone. Also, phone app shows which accounts are linked.
     
  18. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes, that was my mistake. I checked and the app does in fact work when I just tested it now. I'll go try it again in the car now...
     
  19. DaneH5

    DaneH5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    464
    60
    0
    Location:
    Pinellas, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Great, so app works on phone. Rules out that.
    Does pandora work in the EnTune phone app? Under the phone app settings is pandora shown linked?
    Also, does any of the other apps in the nav unit work as suggested before?
     
  20. Erin Galbraith

    Erin Galbraith New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    16
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    On phone, in Entune app, if I click "Pandora" it takes me to an info/settings page and gives me the option to use higher quality audio. It doesn't actually launch Pandora/music. Should it?

    I have definitely gone through the process of linking Pandora with Entune. Unless I messed up somehow. But when I went to the site to check what was linked with my Entune, Pandora was shown there as linked.

    I'm going to go out and play around in the car right now and will report back. Thanks!
     
Loading...