2014 Prius C - Gasoline motor?

Discussion in 'Prius c Technical Discussion' started by ScottA, Jul 31, 2021.

  1. ScottA

    ScottA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    75052
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    Is there a way to start the gasoline motor manually to test it?
     
  2. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    4,356
    4,301
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    The hybrid battery has to work, and the transmission has to mostly work in order to start the engine.

    You could then connect a computer running Toyota's Techstream software and command an engine start to evaluate it for repair purposes.

    If the hybrid battery is broken or discharged, that has to be fixed first.
     
  3. ScottA

    ScottA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    75052
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    Thank you.

    I have looked at the HV battery with Dr.Prius and Torque. The battery looks good. It shows 15.5 volts for every two cells. And like 7.65 or so for the single cells. The voltages are all very close. I do not think it is the battery. The original error codes are POA09 POA94 POAOD. I have already replaced the converter with one from a salvage yard, The problem is still there. I am at a loss.
    I have spent hours trying to understand what I need to get the Techstream software and cable working. It sounds very messy. IE. Techstream does not like 64bit OS, and the cables all seem to be questionable. There is trouble with viruses in the drivers packages. And the one that gets installed is not the one that is needed for Win 10/64.

    I have a rental car that is costing $400 a week, So I need to figure something out soon.

    I would greatly appreciate any guidance anyone can give.
     
    #3 ScottA, Aug 1, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2021
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    93,867
    42,540
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    what did you read the codes with?

    did you mess with the orange safety plug?
     
    #4 bisco, Aug 1, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2021
  5. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    13,839
    9,833
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Whatever you are using instead of Techstream to read the codes is already giving you actionable information.

    The P0A0D (by the way, round things in DTCs are always 0, not the letter O; you can get better search results that way) tells you that your safety interlock circuit is still open. Presumably when you "already replaced the converter" you pulled the service plug and opened the wiring covers on the inverter/converter assembly; you need to make sure the interlock circuit is reestablished in those places (there are contacts under the wiring covers, and a little microswitch made by the handle of the service plug). Without that, you won't see any action in the HV system.

    The P0A09 is telling you the NODD circuit (used by the power management control ECU for control and status of the converter) may be open or shorted to ground (wire pinched during replacement, maybe?). That's another issue that certainly has to be fixed before you'll see life from the converter.

    Are you sure the P0A94 is current? I'm thinking with the safety interlock open and NODD b0rked, it probably hasn't even been possible yet for the ECU to decide if your replacement converter works.
     
  6. ScottA

    ScottA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    75052
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    Bisco and Chapman, Thank you so much for your help. I have had the orange plug out many times. And for sure when I replaced the inverter/converter. Of course, I have the interlock open on the converter because I have to open it to connect the motor wires. I have reconnected both of these interlocks before trying it again. I have also disconnected the negative lead of the 12V battery and the orange interlock for like 15 minutes. And yes, I flip the lock over on the orange plug after it has been pressed down.

    I really don't think any of the wires are open or pinched. I am a better mechanic than that. But this is my first experience with Prius repairs. To be completely honest it is going horrible and I am very discouraged. That is why I truly appreciate your assistance.
     
  7. ScottA

    ScottA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    75052
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    I have been using the VeeBreak Mini Bluetooth with my android phone. Dr.Prius is quite difficult to get connected, but it will if I jack with it long enough. But Torque Pro connects easily. To be honest I really don't know what to do besides checking the HV battery levels. I can of course see tones of information, but I am lost as far as testing. I wanted to check the HV battery life. But the motor has to run for that, so it is not an option.

    I have spent a lot of time watching videos and studying how to install TechStream. Do you know if the latest version is more stable in win10/64? If I remember correctly V16 is the latest. But to be honest, I have not figured out how to download it. I do not mind paying the $60 to use TechStream.
     
  8. Danny13pruisc3

    Danny13pruisc3 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    139
    12
    0
    Location:
    maryland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    where are you at now? Hopefully you've fixed it by now? i have 15 installed in win10/64. i'ts been a while so i'm not sure exactly where I go it. I think i ended up using the drivers from the cd provided with the cable. You should contact the person you got the cable from to see if they can advise you on where to get the drivers/techstream. I just reviewed the release notes and it looks like the new version of techstream just has stuff for the 21 and 22 year model camry..
     
Loading...