1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2014 Prius will not start

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by a_lin, Apr 27, 2018.

1. a_lin

a_lin New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hey guys,

I'm a total newbie and just got this car a week ago. Drove down for a weekend trip and haven't touched the car in 3 days. Today, I try to start it to get to dinner and it is not starting. I'm a worrywart and am now terrified that something is deathly wrong. Here's the series of events that occurred:
    - Walked up to the car, it unlocks automatically like normal when the key is near.
    - Get in, push the power button, light on the button is orange
    - Display is flashing a warning sign (triangle with !), an engine check sign, and what looks like the anti-theft sign (car with a lock)?
    - Try to turn overhead lights on and the light is very very dim (maybe a battery problem?)
    - I get out of the car and try to lock/unlock with the key fob but now there's no response
    - Car emits a low long beep (now I'm real scared)

My car hasn't been responsive since. The power button light isn't even on anymore, the display is dead. I'm really hoping I screwed up somewhere and I just have to jump start the battery. This seems like a common problem for cars but I have never dealt with it before. I've had my license for only 4 years and I've only driven a 2003 Toyota 4Runner. I havent dealt with car issues beyond motor oil changes...so I guess I'm just looking for someone with a lot more knowledge than me to tell me if any of the above points to a larger issue. I would like to jump start the car tomorrow using video tutorials. Do you guys think this is a good idea for a hybrid vehicle?

I'm sorry I'm rambling but I'm so worried I did some irreversible damage to the poor thing. Any sort of advice or insight is appreciated

2. tankyuong

tankyuong Senior Member