1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2015 Prius Base Model Maintenance

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Dinesh PIllai, Nov 15, 2022.

1. Dinesh PIllai

Dinesh PIllai New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Hi All,

This is my very first post in this group - I have taken my 2015 Prius base model to the dealership today and I was asked to perform the following things

1. Car doesnt start often because Aux battery is low - Dealership's recommendation is - replace Aux battery and quote is $536 (parts and labor included) - is this high?
    2. Old license plate needs to be replaced - its not coming off -they are asking $160 for it - sounds too high to me

Below ones are recommended by them - are there anything I can do myself? I am not a pro with car repair. Are these prices in acceptable range?
    3. AC refresh service - $170
    4. Coolant Service - $170
    5.Transmission Exchange: $300
    6. Fuel System treatment, throttle body service , upper induction service etc. - $230
    7. Brake fluid service: $140 -
    8. Hybrid cooling fan service -$330

Thank you in advance!

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    What’s the miles and months on it?

Just at first glance, many of the items are surplus to requirements and very overpriced.

If you’re capable of swapping the battery yourself compatible new ones average around $200 USD in the States.

The transaxle fluid change is definitely not in the schedule, nevertheless worthwhile. It is comparable to an oil change for expense and labour, should not be much more than $100 USD.

If your AC is working well you don’t need that.

Fuel system service is a waste of money. If you want to: DIY throttle body cleaning is easy, there’s a video here I could link.