1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2016 Brake Fluid Flush w/o Techstream?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by pnw_jk, Feb 23, 2022.

1. pnw_jk

pnw_jk New Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I'm a beginner DIY mechanic that's about to undertake changing my own oil, coolant, and transmission fluids in the next weekend or so. All the above seem pretty easy except the brake fluids. I'm waiting on some brake fluid testing strips/tool to determine if I should even change my brake fluids but they are six years old.

I've noticed after reading and watching videos about this that I need a Toyota software for the flush since the pedals are electronic. Some videos like the Car Care Nut says that it's possible to do it without the software by using a vacuum pump.

I'm wondering if this the job I should leave to my dealership (they're charging $220), or if there is a way to get the software? I have a Bluetooth scan tool and the Dr. Prius app if that helps.

#1 pnw_jk, Feb 23, 2022
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2022
  2. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    You might start by looking in the Repair Manual for your model year (more info) to see if there is a procedure for "brake fluid replacement (without Techstream)".

There is for Gen 3, even though there isn't any non-Techstream procedure for bleeding. The difference is that in fluid replacement, there's no air in the system to begin with, and as long as you're super careful none gets in with your fluid replacement, you don't need all of the operations in the Techstream procedure for actual bleeding.

But you'd need to look in the Gen 4 repair manual to be sure, because the brake system significantly changed.

3. Elektroingenieur

Elektroingenieur Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring