1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2016 Prius Braking power low warning

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Asifpop, Oct 25, 2023.

  1. Asifpop

    Asifpop Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    14
    5
    0
    Location:
    New jeraey
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring

    I have 2016 prius and has 158k miles recently while driving on freeway multiple warning lights popped up showing Braking power low abs system malfuntion collision system malfunction visit your dealer there is no change in brakes feeling or driving the car.the warning lights go away and come back intermittently i tried searching internet but nothing specific is found.. any help in this regard will be much appreciated
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Patron saint of newly poured sidewalks

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    54,033
    37,894
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Maybe take the car’s advice: visit dealer. There should be codes, and you don’t want to mess around with something like this.
     
  3. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    107,360
    48,770
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Bad accumulator pump? 12 volt battery?
     
  4. johnjamis

    johnjamis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    79
    13
    0
    Location:
    KY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Check your brake fluid level. You may need new brake pads.
     
    Drakxyfly likes this.
  5. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Patron saint of newly poured sidewalks

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    54,033
    37,894
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Was anything plugged into OBD port by the way? I’ve had somewhat similar, when I had a Scangauge constantly connected; it was apparently weighing on the connection, causing a communication error.