2016 Prius Cruise Control Issue

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by jocose, Aug 2, 2021.

  1. jocose

    jocose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2021
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I was recently driving into a town at about 25MPH. I tried I adjusted the cruise control speed down the below the speed limit, and then adjusted it back up. It seemed to work fine but about 30 seconds later I noted the speed of the car dropping. I turned the cruise control on and back off again and tried setting the speed by pushing the lever down (relative to the plane of the wheel). Nothing happened.

    I parked and turned the car off and on again and the same thing happened. I can set the cruise control to active (indicator light comes on) but I can't set the actual speed.

    Has anyone encountered this before? Any thoughts on what might be wrong? Brake sensor, cock spring perhaps? I can enter and exit cruise control "mode", that is never an issue. Just setting the speed.
     
  2. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,857
    7,409
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    What about higher speeds - 38km/hr is the lowest speed it will set unless close to the car in front - not sure what that is in old measure.

    Were you following someone?
     
  3. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    15,440
    8,703
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    What speed exactly were you trying to set? Could you have tried for less than the minimum? From the Owner's Manual (first version of two that year):



    upload_2021-8-2_19-45-37.png

    upload_2021-8-2_19-48-52.png
     

    Attached Files:

    FuelMiser likes this.
  4. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    10,233
    12,554
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Sounds like you were driving in B rather than D.
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  5. jocose

    jocose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2021
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Cruise control wont work under 25 MPH. I feel really stupid for not knowing this. It works fine at any speed over that.
     
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,178
    10,567
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Prius trivia fact: since Gen 2, I think, you can have cruise set, then go below 25 mph, then go above 25 mph again, and use RESUME and it remembers the speed you had previously set.

    In Prius Gen 1, going below 25 mph would forget the formerly set cruise speed, so you couldn't just go back above 25 and use RESUME, you had to go back to the speed you wanted and use SET again.
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  7. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    10,233
    12,554
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    On Gen 4 with DRCC, once it's set, it will follow the car in front of you all the way down to 0 mph. Hit resume or tap the gas pedal and it will resume. But, iirc, you still have to be going over 25 mph to set the speed.
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  8. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,857
    7,409
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Not if you're following a car fairly close. At least I think.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  9. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    10,233
    12,554
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I usually set mine at the middle distance on the rare occasions when I use it. Normally, I disengage the CC when I see traffic slowing whether I'm using normal or radar. But in testing it on long trips on the Interstate, when traffic stopped, so did the car. If the stop was momentary, it resumed on its own. If the stop was for a second or more it needed a nudge.

    It may be that AU and NA work differently, though.
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
Loading...