1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2018 Prius 2 Key Fob Question

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by Art Schnabel, Oct 30, 2021.

1. Art Schnabel

Art Schnabel Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello Everyone: I'm a new member and I posted this question at the bottom of my new member hello but thought it would get more exposure here, so apologies for those reading this twice!

We just (yesterday) brought home our beautiful 2018 Prius (only 35K miles!). This was to replace our equally-beautiful 2013 Prius lost in an accident a few weeks ago (we're fine). They only gave us one key fob and we need two. Hence my questions:

1. Is it possible to re-program our old 2013 fob?

2. If not, is buying one from a Toyota dealer our only option?

I should add that I'm not very technically proficient!

Many thanks, all.
    Art

bisco likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

1) unfortunately no

2) i would start by getting a dealer price, then contacting locksmiths for competitive pricing

3) all the best!(y)

3. MalachyNG

MalachyNG Active Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XLE
    I do not believe you can reprogram a previous gen fob to gen 4 prius.

You can try reaching out to the dealer to ask if they would give you a 2nd fob. Play dumb and see if they'll make you right. Cars ought to come with 2 sets of keys. You just bought the car from them so maybe they'll still be in the mood for a goodwill gesture. They may just wash their hands of you since the deal is closed and they got their money. But it's worth a try at least.