1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

3,500 foot decent = crazy HOT brakes and Burning Smells

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Tommerdoo, Sep 10, 2015.

1. Tommerdoo

Tommerdoo Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello everyone,

Many of you helped me when I recently replaced my brake calipers on BOTH sides because they had seized up and were dragging on the rotors and pads. Thank you so much! This is a bit of enlightenement for me because I think I know what killed my poor brake pistons!

Ok. I'm not an expert, but I was under the impression that the Prius could brake itself with the regenerative braking and then when the battery was topped off, the system would "know" to use engine braking so that the brakes wouldn't get so damn hot the gates of hell feel like like a cool winter in San Diego.

I believe that this hill is what killed my previous brake piston calipers which were fine when I purchased the car. Assuming the system was "smart" enough to brake on it's own, I've gone down the hill many times in the past but upon getting to the bottom of the hill (a stop sign), the stench of burning brake smell filled the cabin.

I went slowly down this 3,500 foot decent around 20-30 mpg gently taking it in stride smiling at what I thought would be a filled up battery. The battery charged to within a bar of the top and the automatic braking of the car never started once on the decent.

Now.....why doesn't the system know how to better regulate itself? My guess --> Is it because the battery in my car is "older" and the system is trying to endlessly charge it (bad capacity perhaps?)....so perhaps the traction battery needs reconditioning (it is 7 years old and I live in Hawaii, a hot place that eats regular car batteries in 3 years as opposed to the normal 5 people get out of them in cold climates where I originally come from).