1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

35 MPs and no acceleration in my 2010 Prius :(

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Al Martin, Jun 16, 2019.

1. Al Martin

Al Martin New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I’ve spoken to a couple different bonehead mechanics and nobody can explain my 35 miles per gallon overall, back of my car getting dirty from exhaust, no acceleration and burning over a quart of oil every thousand miles or so. Not sure if any of these symptoms are related but I signed up for this chat group hoping for some input Before going to Toyota mechanics and spending money I don’t have, PS I am a poor broke Uber driver with over 160k miles on my Prius...I don’t know if that solicitation for help will work but worth putting it out there thank you smart people that help me

2. jerrymildred

jerrymildred Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Soot. No power. Bonehead mechanics is right. The 2010 has earned quite a reputation as an oil burner.

Any decent mechanic should be able to check the compression and tell you the best course of action. Toyota SHOULD give you dependable answers but they can be mighty expensive. Sure seems odd the engine would be that shot after only 160k miles unless someone ran it out of oil. That'll trash an engine in no time flat.

3. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    At first blush it sounds like two unrelated problems: oil burning is a "feature" of 2010s, and the hybrid power system isn't performing up to scratch.

Oil burning is entirely within the engine, and it's not much different from any other gasoline engine with an oil burning problem. Same kinds of fixes and expenses. Not pretty.