1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

50+ MPG -- A Newbie's Quest

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Rokeby, Mar 25, 2008.

1. Rokeby

Rokeby Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    There are currently a number of active threads wherein new/prospective owners are asking what they should know to maximize the MPG potential of their Prius. As a three-month owner, still-a-Newbie, I thought I'd relate what I've done that has lead to my daily MPG rising from 42.7 to 54.7, a 28% increase.

The first time I drove my 2008 Touring, "Amapola." was when I picked her up in Rhode Island and drove home to Ballamer, about 450 mi, at 42.7 MPG. (That story was told in: http://priuschat.com/forums/newbie-...ulous-personal-prius-purchasing-qdyssey.htmlL)

Since then, I studied all the various techniques for maximizing MPG here on PriusChat. These are best summarized in: http://priuschat.com/forums/knowled...rating-mode-availability-reference-aid-2.html

This document is about as densely packed with info as can be. For a Newbie, it is nearly incomprehensible. Fortunately its builder, ksstatdead, includes cites for the threads from which the info was extracted. That is where the real high MPG information gold mine lies. That is where I learned how to do what was needed to get my MPGs up.

As prep for my assault on 50+ MPG, I pumped my tires up to 40/38 psi, and blocked my grill with foam pipe insulation. Because I have come to the opinion that the Energy screen on the Multi-Function Display (MFD) is not a useful real-time tool for pursuing high MPG, I bought a ScanGauge II.
    (See http://priuschat.com/forums/fuel-economy/42280-mfd-energy-graph-mpg-h-better-way.html)