1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

A supercapacitor for Xmas to jump start a 2009 prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by hollerg, Dec 17, 2021.

1. hollerg

hollerg New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So being the father of the owner, I'm thinking of Christmas gifting a supercapacitor, in case the battery runs down. The 12v battery is ~325 amps. Is that all I need for the supercapacitor jumpstarter sizing?

Does anyone have a favorite?

#1 hollerg, Dec 17, 2021
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2021
  2. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Edit: Sorry, I have no experience with supercapacitor jump starter packs.

#2 xliderider, Dec 17, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2021
  3. Another

Another Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    This one has good reviews

$120 with current on page coupon

4. Georgina Rudkus

Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
  5. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Jump starters are something I never get too excited about. I have one, but haven't needed it personally, ever. Last time I used it was for someone stuck, at a gas station.

If you're personally needing a jump starter, regularly, something is wrong with the picture?

6. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I don't personally need mine, regularly or otherwise; like others, I've used it on other people's cars around as often as on my own.