ABS and P0A80

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by HParkPrius, Jun 11, 2021.

  1. HParkPrius

    HParkPrius New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2021
    8
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    2010 Gen III, 186k miles. I have the ABS light on the dash. Would that cause the permanent code P0A80 to not clear from the A/T module?
    Dealer said they have to fix the ABS problem before they can resolve the permanent code. They want $3,400 to fix ABS (brake booster and master cylinder) Engine module is clear. No permanent code or any code for that matter. I love this little car but maybe it’s time to sell it. Had it since new.
     
  2. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,563
    10,253
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    It totally depends on what the trouble codes from the ABS are. They haven't even told you that?

    If they haven't, you can either use a scan tool or, if you don't have one, use a short jumper wire and count the blinks on the ABS, VSC, and ((!)) lights. Then you'll know why the ABS light is on.

    For example, it could turn out you have a C1259 (or 58 blinked on the ((!)) light), or a C1310 (or 51 blinked on the VSC light), and if you had those it would be about the opposite situation from what the dealer said; those are brake system codes that go away by themselves once a hybrid-system issue is fixed. :)

    But we shouldn't be guessing; it is better to find out what the codes really are.
     
    HParkPrius likes this.
  3. HParkPrius

    HParkPrius New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2021
    8
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Ok. Thank you. I’ll check the paperwork for codes. My Autel 319 odb scanner doesn’t show any abs codes.
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,563
    10,253
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    That surprises me ... the usual deal with generic scanners is they'll show you the brake codes (lots of generic cars have brakes) and not show you the hybrid-specific ones!
     
    HParkPrius likes this.
  5. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,735
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    if they give you specific codes, you’re gonna be able to fix it yourself. How will that keep them in business? :ROFLMAO:
     
  6. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,011
    7,689
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I would be interested in buying the car if you're thinking of selling. email me at [email protected]
     
    HParkPrius and Raytheeagle like this.
  7. HParkPrius

    HParkPrius New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2021
    8
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Ok my paperwork shows code C1391.
     
  8. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,563
    10,253
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Yep, that probably means there's an actuator, or an accumulator, or both assemblies, in your future. (Or in the car's future with somebody else.)
     
    HParkPrius likes this.
  9. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,698
    11,284
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    The first question with multiple seemingly unrelated coeds should be, "What is the condition of the 12 volt battery?"

    If it is too low you can get real strange behavior from the Prius computers.

    P0A80 usually indicates a traction battery issue.,
     
    HParkPrius likes this.
  10. HParkPrius

    HParkPrius New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2021
    8
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yeah. Dealer says to replace brake booster with master cylinder. Ugh.
     
  11. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,698
    11,284
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hopefully you do not need a traction battery too. P0A80 is an ominous sign. What did they say caused that?
     
  12. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,563
    10,253
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If the P0A80 is only present as a permanent code, it may simply not have gone away yet, after some past repair to the traction battery.

    Has there been any past repair to the traction battery, that you know of?
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
Loading...