Abs and Vsc light after brake replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Tony714, Sep 14, 2019.

  1. Tony714

    Tony714 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    49
    9
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    That did not help. Lights are still on, brakes are still crap
     
  2. Tony714

    Tony714 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    49
    9
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Anyone in the Orange County, ca area have this software and can help me out? Kinda really need my car to go to work and all
     
  3. Tony714

    Tony714 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    49
    9
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Are you in Orange County or near it?
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    7,627
    5,269
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    While you're waiting for somebody with Techstream to chime in, you could collect the blink codes (lots of threads here, search tc cg blink codes) and post 'em here.
     
  5. Tony714

    Tony714 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    49
    9
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Does anyone know if it is damaging to drive it that way for a couple days?
     
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    7,627
    5,269
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Might be easier to say with some idea what the codes are.
     
  7. Tony714

    Tony714 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    49
    9
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I dont know how to get the blink codes, but the abs light is on, the e brake won’t go off, and the traction control light is on
     
  8. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    3,549
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    If you didn't pump the brakes to move the pads snug up to the rotors while you had the relays out and before you reconnected the battery, you will have set some brake codes, to do with the relays failing to work. The bad news is you cannot reset these by disconnecting the 12 V battery and the easiest way is to clear them with techstream. The second easiest way is a chicken dance:

    Clear brake DTC's with chicken dance.

    Prius OBD2 port.jpg

    Hope that helps.
     
    #28 dolj, Sep 16, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2019
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    7,627
    5,269
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Once you've got a little wire and you know which pins are Tc and CG, you've got all you need to read the trouble codes and report what the car is saying the trouble is.

    Weird how many people post that info only with a suggestion to clear the information and not to read it.
     
  10. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    3,549
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    While in a lot of cases what Chap says is spot on, read the codes and find out what your car is telling you, in this particular case I gave my reasons of why I recommended to jump straight to clearing the codes.

    As the 12 V battery was disconnected prior, some codes may have already been cleared, so the OP wouldn't now have the full picture, and the worst that could happen, if I am wrong, is the DTCs will come right back.

    In the interests of public service here is the procedure to read the codes when a suitable code reader is not immediately available.

    The procedure references a Toyota SST (special service tool) SST 09843-18040 which you plug into he OBDII (DLC3) port and it conveniently bridges pin 4 (CG) and pin 13 (TC). In lieu of this SST, you can use a suitable piece of wire inserted into those pins. Use the diagram of the DLC3 port above in post #28 to locate those pins.

    CHECK DTC (When not Using Intelligent Tester)
    (a) Using SST, connect terminals TC and CG of the DLC3.
    SST 09843-18040
    (b) Turn the power switch ON (READY)
    BCWL.png
    (c) Read the DTC from the Brake Control warning light, ABS warning light and VSC warning light on the combination meter.


    Light Read DTC
    1 Brake Control warning light DTC of ECB system
    2 ABS warning light DTC of ABS system
    3 VSC warning light DTC of Enhanced VSC system


    As an example, the illustration below shows the blinking patterns of the normal system code and trouble codes 11 and 21.
    Normal System Code.png

    (d) Codes are explained in the Diagnostic Trouble Code (see page BC-47).
    (e) After completing the check, disconnect terminals TC and CG of the DLC3, and turn off the display.
    If 2 or more DTCs are detected at the same time, the DTCs will be displayed in ascending order.
     
    #30 dolj, Sep 17, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2019
    JC91006 and Raytheeagle like this.
  11. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    7,627
    5,269
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    To be honest, that's pretty much what you're doing even with the special tool (if you want plug-in convenience, you can build a thing). The main advantage of the SST is that it has the proper pin terminals crimped on the ends of the wire, so you know you won't be deforming the contacts in the DLC connector by inserting them, as you could be if using random paper-clip ends or the like.

    [​IMG]
     
    JC91006 likes this.
  12. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    3,549
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Huh! That is interesting. Now that you've posted that pic of the SST, I do remember seeing that before. Probably, from the same post to which you linked. Perhaps In my mind I was remembering your tool, but I really did think Toyota would have come up with something more sophisticated for their SST. Anyway thanks for the link back to your earlier posts.
     
  13. Tony714

    Tony714 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    49
    9
    0
    Location:
    Orange County
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Thanks for the info everyone. My pops is a euro car mechanic and between the basics I know and the advanced stuff he knows, all my car repairs had been covered in the past.

    This being new territory for both of us, we learned together. He has a full-deal scanner for his biz that wasn’t equipped for Toyota’s. So with an upgrade we were able to bleed, clear the trouble codes, and get my POS back on the road.

    TLDR: got it figured out, thanks for all the help.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
Loading...