1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

ABS VSC (!)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by hunter_prius, Jul 15, 2020.

Tags:
  1. hunter_prius

hunter_prius New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    LE
    Hello,

I am new to the Prius Chat and I would like to say thank you to everyone who posts on here! You all are very helpful!

I have a 2008 Toyota Prius with 111,000 miles on it. I just replaced both front wheel bearings, front brakes, front rotors, and rear brake shoes (only on passenger side right now. Driver side will be done within a couple of days).

In order to replace the wheel bearings, I had to remove the knuckle and pound the wheel bearing out. Put everything back together on the driver side with new brakes and rotor, then took it for a test drive. Everything worked great and I had no lights pop up on the dash.

I then moved to the passenger side and did the same thing in the front for the wheel bearing, rotor, and brakes. I then moved to the back and replaced the rear brake shoes. During this process, the cylinder within the drum came apart and I put it back together. I finished putting the drum assembly back together. Started it up and took it for a test drive and my ABS, VSC, and ! lights came on.

I then found out how to short out this error code with a paperclip using pins 4 and 13. I pumped the brakes 8 times and followed the process. I had to do this a couple of times before it actually “worked”. The lights turned off, so I took it for a test spin to make sure everything was alright. The lights stayed off for about 3 minutes, then turned back on.

I am good with the mechanical aspects of the Prius, just not with the electrical aspects. Anybody run into this problem or know how to fix it? I looked through the forums but I could not find any solutions. Any type of guidance or help would be appreciated!