AC Compressor replaced and not turning on

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by popptj2001, Mar 15, 2017.

  1. popptj2001

    popptj2001 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    79
    42
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
    My 2007 AC Compressor without warning stopped working. I had replaced a compressor a few years back after the compressor was making noise then failed. Easiest fix for me was to run down to my local salvage yard and pull one for $81 and install...thinking the used compressor I installed probably failed. After doing this, still the compressor again fails to start. So now I likely have an extra good compressor :)

    On another thread Patric indicated it was either the inverter or the AC ECU. I ran the HVAC test and got codes 21, 33, 41, 72, 76

    Given this info, where would I move to next? I get no codes when I pull codes from my code reader.

    Tks.
     
  2. Patrick Wong

    Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    18,095
    6,080
    0
    Location:
    Green Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Your code reader is useless - get Mini VCI if you want to be serious about doing repair work on the Prius (and other Toyota vehicles).

    However the blink codes that you retrieved indicate that 1) you have a problem with the servo motors which direct air to the various ducts and 2) you have a problem with the AC compressor.

    Regarding 1), have you noticed that you cannot direct air to the defrost ducts, or the face-level ducts, or the floor ducts?
    Regarding 2), how much refrigerant did you recharge the system with, and exactly what refrigerant are you using? Do you have gauges to assess the high side and low side pressures?

    Did you disconnect the 12V battery prior to replacing the compressor? If not, do that now and see if that helps to clear at least some of the blink codes that exist.

    I also suggest you access the factory repair manual via techinfo.toyota.com so you can research the troubleshooting associated with the blink codes you retrieved. Good luck.
     
    #2 Patrick Wong, Mar 15, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2017
  3. popptj2001

    popptj2001 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    79
    42
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I attempted to add 134a (as I have MANY many many times because I have a chronic leak that I cannot track down). The system won't accept any more than 1/4 or so of the 12 oz can.....I suppose since the compressor isn't starting. So as I said above I replaced the compressor with a salvage one with the same result....won't accept much refrigerant. I have replaced the compressor in the past as I have 463,000 miles on my prius. (I have also replaced just about everything under the hood that can be replaced).....engine trans inverter etc. Car runs fantastic!

    So I just need to move to the next logical step in this process.
     
  4. popptj2001

    popptj2001 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    79
    42
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I have had a little trouble with directing air but that's an intermittent non lethal event.

    Also I have not used gauges even tho I have some. The car only takes a little over 12 oz so it has been pretty easy for me to figure out without AC gauges.
     
  5. Patrick Wong

    Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    18,095
    6,080
    0
    Location:
    Green Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    How well is your vacuum pump working? To me, the next logical step would be to figure out whether you are not evacuating the system correctly, if you can only add 3 ounces of refrigerant into a system which is supposed to be in vacuum. The compressor does not need to be operating when you are introducing the initial charge, in fact it will refuse to run because the pressure switches in the system will prevent that until sufficient refrigerant is added.

    The specification is 15.9 ounces +/- 1.1 ounce.

    If you have manifold gauges then it would be interesting to see what the measurements reveal, once the compressor starts to operate.
     
    #5 Patrick Wong, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2017
  6. popptj2001

    popptj2001 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    79
    42
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I will attach gauges today and take a look. Im going to grab the AC computer under the dashboard from the salvage vehicle where I got the compressor from and see if that fixes the problem. I do have a mini vci cable I bought about 6 months ago but couldn't get the software to load correctly ( i have a brake caliper that needs replacing and needed it for that).

    On the part about it accepting refrigerant...I thought it was strange too that after having the can attached for at least 15 minutes it was still over half full. Thanks for the help and will let ya know how this turns out.
     
Loading...