AC no communication after R and R inverter

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Eby6114, Apr 22, 2019.

  1. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi I just did a brake actuator replacement which involved removing and reinstalling the inverter after doing so my AC no longer worked. I have codes 32, 42, 98 which all point to a communication problem between the computer and the AC compressor I do have heat by the way but no cold and I never had any problems until removing and reinstalling the inverter. Since then I've opened the inverter and checked everything at least three times and also found the AC compressor and verified the wiring harness and check the plug-in between the compressor and the inverter probably at least four times now, any direction you feel I should go at this point would be very helpful I'm pulling my hair out right now. The dash has nothing lit up and my OBD2 isn't pulling any codes.
    Didn't find anything about there being a relay, or fuse involved for the AC in the threads. anyone have a idea to which direction I should try to take this I don't mind disconnecting the compressor harness and checking for voltage even though it's high voltage. I'm pretty sure if I did disco it it would probably throw codes at that point but haven't tried it yet.
    Thanks for all your help in advance
     
  2. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,750
    3,265
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I have codes 32, 42, 98 which all point to a communication problem between the computer and the AC compressor

    These seem like odd DTCs...............are you using a code reader or blinks?

    It might be helpful to actually have the DTC. Many times a hybrid code will result in the AC compressor not functioning. The code may have nothing to do with the actual AC system itself.

    For example, one of the first signs of an inverter water pump failing is that the AC begins to work intermittently...

    And this comment....The dash has nothing lit up and my OBD2 isn't pulling any codes.....are you saying the dash is dead or only that you're not showing a check engine light? If your dash is dead, check your AM2 fuse. This is often blown when the inverter cooling pump fails, but who knows what could happen after an inverter RNR.
     
    #2 TMR-JWAP, Apr 22, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
  3. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The dash is fine. The codes came from holding AC button, recirculation then start start without depressing break pedal resulting in diag codes displayed on the climate control display. It displayed one code then the next etc and then repeatedly cycling them until I hit the main power button again.
    Inverter pump is running very well. Great turbulence inside resevoire.
    I thought those 3 two digit codes where the dct's each reference a communication problem with the AC
    Thanks
     
  4. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,750
    3,265
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I have a book back at the shop that has a list of codes that can be displayed on the MFD. I'll take a look to see what it has for descriptions/solutions for those 3 when I get back this evening.
     
    Eby6114 and Raytheeagle like this.
  5. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,750
    3,265
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Are you able to post photos of the display with the codes? Are there additional digits prior to the code numbers you provided? I'm not showing anything for 32, 42, or 98, BUT

    the true DTC of:

    B1432 is Air Inlet Damper Position Sensor Circuit
    1. Air inlet control servo motor.(air inlet damper position sensor)
    2. Harness or connector between servo motor and A/C amplifier
    3. A/C amplifier
    B1442 is Air Inlet Damper Control Servo Motor Circuit
    1. Air inlet control servo motor
    2. Same as 2 above
    3. Same as 3 above
    B1498 is Communication Malfunction (A/C Inverter Local)
    1. Harness or connector between hybrid control ecu and A/C inverter (w/converter inverter assy)
    2. Hybrid Control ecu
    3. A/C inverter (w/converter inverter assy)

    That's about all I can provide.
     
    #5 TMR-JWAP, Apr 22, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    8,491
    6,120
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Codes are in the Repair Manual (more info).

    32 and 42 are both about the air inlet servo (the little motor that moves the vane that lets in fresh air from outside or recirculated). 32 is about the sensor that detects the vane position and 42 is about the motor circuit for moving the vane. (The detecting condition for 42 is that the position sensor value doesn't change even when the motor is being powered to move it ... so you'd sort of expect if you have 32 for a sensor problem, you're also going to have 42 reported.) There are about five pages each of troubleshooting info for those codes in the manual.

    98 is indeed about the A/C amplifier's ability to communicate with the A/C inverter. This car is a Gen 2, where the communication isn't really with the compressor per se; the Gen 2 compressor is just a vanilla three-phase motor. The control smarts are in a module that is part of the inverter assembly (which was changed on this car), and that's what the A/C amplifier "talks" to.

    In fact, it's more fun than that. The A/C inverter talks to the HV ECU. The HV ECU sits on the CAN. The A/C amplifier sits on the BEAN. For messages to get between the A/C amplifier and the HV ECU, they have to go through the Gateway ECU (up behind the glove box), which sits on all of the AVC-LAN, the BEAN, and the CAN.

    But probably no one has disturbed any of those connections, and somebody did replace the inverter recently, so that's probably where I'd start to look for something not perfectly connected. Or maybe it was a used inverter that was on the market because its A/C section quit?

    Two pages of troubleshooting ideas in the manual for B1498. Also, because it's really the HV ECU's responsibility to talk to the inverter, there could be useful information to gain by asking the HV ECU for any codes.

    TMR-JWAP: Jinx.

    In Gen 3 (just for general interest), the compressor itself becomes smart, and does its own talking on the network. It also goes up in price, and the Gen 3 inverter goes down, as it no longer contains a compressor section.
     
    TMR-JWAP and Raytheeagle like this.
  7. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    2,750
    3,265
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Nice timing Chap
     
  8. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks, I replaced the brake actuator and had to r and r the inverter. Can't for the life of me see anything different that could occur. I found the exact code info but it didn't exactly tell me where I went wrong. I'm in floFlorabs things are beginning to heat up. Stared at this thing long enough to ask for help and step back taking a breather for now heat come what may. If I get to the heart if the matter I'll write it up but for now I'm stepping back to get a better view. The codes came from the display upper right with nothing preceding them.
     
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    8,491
    6,120
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Ok, so it's not a different inverter, just got removed and replaced for access.

    So I'd be looking first at the harness connections to the inverter from the HV ECU. If nothing is obviously loose or incompletely seated, the troubleshooting steps in the manual contain some ohmmeter checks to make.

    Code info never will tell you exactly where you went wrong. :) It will only tell you what unexpected condition the ECU is able to detect. There's always some detective work in getting from there to what the cause really is. But it can be a lot less detective work than if you didn't have the codes at all.
     
  10. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Sooooo......I may be a baaaadddd boy. I found a six pin wire coming from the inverter about 6 inches long. I might have to remove the whole inverter to find it's counter part as I have searched the entire firewall for it's mate. I sure hope this is the issue but feel like there's egg on my face at this time. Any clue where the other half might be located?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    It might boil down to this missed wire
     
  12. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    That was it. Sorry for the trouble . I found it by touch not by sight. I was so focused from those HV cables and configuration everything else was on the back burner
     
  13. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    8,491
    6,120
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    No trouble. It's fun to solve stuff. :)
     
    Eby6114 likes this.
  14. VFerdman

    VFerdman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    1,070
    1,075
    3
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Glad it was nothing! Those are always good.

    Now how about a write-up on that brake actuator replacement?
     
    bl817 likes this.
  15. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    8,491
    6,120
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    By the way, do you still have the air inlet servo codes?
     
  16. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'll check but I noticed that I still have transmission codes that came up under a bad hybrid battery. I replaced two of the cells within the hybrid battery (54 dollars) and life was good. Erased all codes with the obd 2 connection and they didn't return but noticed them when trying to figure out the loss of communication with the AC unit. Ghost in the machine? This was found by hitting start (no break pedal) then headlights on\off I believe 3 times.
    I'll check.
     
  17. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'll give it a go but it's not for the faint if heart and requires a swear jar.
     
    VFerdman likes this.
  18. Eby6114

    Eby6114 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    24
    3
    0
    Location:
    Wildwood F L
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I checked it today and the codes are still present regardless of the issue being fixed. Perhaps I need a scan tool (tech scan) instead of a obt 2.
     
  19. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    8,491
    6,120
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Well, have you done anything to fix the servo issue yet? I know you found the unplugged inverter connection, solving the other issue.
     
Loading...