1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

AC not working - doesn't appear to switch on

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Robalov, Jul 25, 2020.

1. Robalov

Robalov New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello all,

I'm having some trouble with my AC and I'm rather new to owning a Prius, so I'm looking for a little guidance here.

My AC doesn't appear to turn on, so the fans only blow ambient temperature in the vehicle.

I've checked my codes and I get 42, 72, 74. I had searched and didn't see someone with this combination (I may be mistaken however.)

I've checked what I could with the Torque app and when toggling the AC on and off (and varying target temp from high to low) on the MFD, nothing on the Torque app watch variables change.

Variables:

Aircon Req - always reads no

AC power - always zero

AC gate - always open

Since I'm unfamiliar, I don't know if these are supposed to toggle (seems reasonable to assume they should), and secondly, what is 'AC gate'?

Given these faults, and the google 'research' I've done, I'm focusing my attention to the electrical side of the AC unit.
    All the fuses/fuse array look good, are there any relays I should check?
    Possible failure of the AC amplifier likely?

Cheers for any insight / experience on the matter.

/Rob

For reference - manual diagnosis for the codes above.

42-
    - Air inlet control servo motor
    - Wire harness between air inlet control servo motor and air conditioning amplifier
    - Air conditioning amplifier

72-
    - Hybrid control ECU
    - Electric inverter compressor (w/ motor compressor)
    - A/C inverter (inverter with converter)

74-

didn't see error 74 listed

2. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three