1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Acceptable hybrid cell voltage

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by 541pughe, Jun 30, 2018.

1. 541pughe

541pughe New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    hello, this is my first time posting although I’ve spent countless hours reading various posts on here. I have a 2007 prius gen 2 with a 201xxx miles, bought it a year ago with 180xxx and the previous owner ensured the hybrid battery would be good for a few more years. Well a few weeks back the big red triangle among other various lights came up on the dash, but I never actually verified the what the problem code was. So last week I tore it all apart and cleaned all the copper connectors that were heavily corroded. After I put it all together the same lights came back with 60 miles. Today I tore it all apart again and did some load testing on the individual cells, so I’m here asking what the acceptable voltage of these cells are.
    All of these numbers are an average of 4 tests
    #1 7.46 (bad I think)
    #2 7.67
    #3 7.65
    #4 7.67
    #5 7.63
    #6 7.64
    #7 7.63
    #8 7.68
    #9 7.65
    #10 7.61
    #11 7.65
    #12 7.68
    #13 7.66
    #14 7.69
    #15 7.67
    #16 7.67
    #17 7.63
    #18 7.66
    #19 7.65
    #20 7.67
    #21 7.63
    #22 7.67
    #23 7.66
    #24 7.67
    #25 7.63
    #26 7.69
    #27 7.61
    #28 7.40 (bad I think)

So before I start buying replacement modules and the tool to get all of these balanced, should I just fork out the 500 bucks at the local shop that offers reconditioned with a 6 month warranty?
    Thanks for any and all input.

2. Raytheeagle

Raytheeagle Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Welcome to Prius Chat (y).

What I would do before performing anything else is get a proper code reader as the red triangle does not always mean replace the hybrid battery ;).