1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Added coolant, now sloshing water sound when first turning on

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Russkij_Skazki, Dec 11, 2023.

1. Russkij_Skazki

Russkij_Skazki New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello everyone, I’m a newbie here but I figured maybe y’all could help. I recently did a radiator flush so I changed both the engine and the inverter coolant. After I changed the engine coolant, a new sound started. When I first turn on the Prius after a while of it being idle, I get this weird sound of water rushing in from behind the dash. I have tried putting the car on maintenance mode with the radiator cap on for about 10-15 minutes, I have tried jumping the pump on the relay switch, I have tried revving the car and putting the A/C on max heat. There are no bubbling sounds at all, it’s only when first starting up the car.
    Maybe it could be low coolant? When I open the bleeder valve enough for liquid to come out and connect it with a vinyl hose to the coolant reservoir, the radiator does keep sucking up coolant down the line. I will keep driving the car as it is my daily but I’m worried I might damage something. Any help will be much appreciated, thank you!! (Prius 2009 standard)

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base