adding 2nd keyfob with techstream and aftermarket remote starter

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by myotheryotaisanFJ, Sep 25, 2019.

  1. myotheryotaisanFJ

    myotheryotaisanFJ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    5
    1
    0
    Location:
    nj
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    recently bought a 2013 prius 2, only came with 1 keyfob, it has a remote starter installed, no idea on model or anything as it was done before i owned the car and the dealer didnt even know it was there. current keyfob (oem) controls remote starter by pressing lock 2x then holding on the 3rd press. im thinking about buying the techstream cable and app to make basic maintenance tasks easier, added bonus is too save a ton of $$ adding a new keyfob. i definitely dont want to lose the remote starter functionality on my current keyfob, when i program the new fob, does it require me to do anything with the current one? as long as i can get the new keyfob to unlock/lock and start the car im not worried about having remote starter working on the new keyfob, but i definitely dont want to lose it on the current fob. thanks in advance for any info
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,376
    43,240
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    since it works off of a toyota key fob, perhaps it is an oem unit, and programming will be available in tech stream. just a guess. did you buy it from a toyota dealer?
     
  3. myotheryotaisanFJ

    myotheryotaisanFJ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    5
    1
    0
    Location:
    nj
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    i didnt buy the car from a toyota dealer. my only hunch it was not installed by toyota is its not listed on the OE vin check page where it shows the delivery add ons, and there are no mentions of it on the carfax. i know carfax is just a "guide" of sorts but when it lists nearly every other service done, id be suprised if they failed to note a remote starter installation.
     
  4. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    941
    861
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I guess you'd have to research to find out:

    1) Was remote start offered as a dealer option on the 2013 Prius?
    2) If so, is what you describe the manner in which it's activated? (Seems unlikely... it just doesn't seem like an OEM type solution... but that's just my opinion)

    I think your hunch is correct: that you have an aftermarket remote start system. I have a hunch that if you program a second (or third, or fourth) FOB, that they will work with the remote starter. The reason I say that is that it appears the remote start is "piggy-backed" on the remote lock/unlock system.
     
    myotheryotaisanFJ likes this.
  5. Baryonyx

    Baryonyx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    21
    12
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm trying to have a second FOB programmed myself. I have a used unit I bought on offerup, but it looks like it was already programmed to someone else's car.

    Brought it to a local Toyota dealership, and they said they couldn't reprogram it, and it can't be used at all. :(
     
  6. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    941
    861
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    You need either a new fob, or a used one that's been "virginized". The "virginzing" process requires some special equipment that a locksmith would have.
    Once you have a virgin key, it then needs to be programmed by the dealer or a locksmith. I have the dealer software (Techstream) so I was able to program a "virginized" key I bought on Ebay for about $100.
     
  7. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    3,821
    2,271
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Unless you could show proof you are the legal owner, the dealership may not do it because the fob may be a stolen one.
    Maybe for them it's not worth the legal risk?

     
  8. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,368
    970
    70
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I believe that the dealer doesn't know how to reprogram a fob. Locksmiths do. A used fob is reprogrammed when it is the first fob registered after a seed reset.
     
  9. Attila Fekete

    Attila Fekete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    161
    54
    0
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I case of Europe dealers can do the key programing. Locksmiths usually don’t have TechStream to do it.
     
  10. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,740
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    It’s a road trip oversea to get the fob to work then. Great vacation added.
     
  11. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,368
    970
    70
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    While I can't speak for your local situation, in the US locksmiths specialize in particular types of locks. Household locksmiths typically don't handle auto keyfobs. Automobile locksmiths typically don't have the equipment for all car brands. The best way to search is to talk to locksmiths. Most can refer you to an automotive locksmith, and they talk to each other about what cars they can handle. Since Techstream is Toyota only, they tend to use locksmith equipment that works with more than just Toyota. Since Toyota is a major brand, I would expect there to be somebody that can handle it most everywhere Toyota is sold. Toyota dealers frequently don't have a clue on how to program a used keyfob, but there are locksmiths who do. It's a long search, but there are people who do manage to program used keyfobs, and they don't work at dealerships.
     
  12. Attila Fekete

    Attila Fekete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    161
    54
    0
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Wow, that suprised me. I don’t have all the manuals for Prius, but had it for my previous Toyota - dowloaded from techdoc - including the key programing. I know that key programing is Techstream officialy available only for Toyota security expert - whatever that means. So it’s just suprised me how it’s handled in the US.
    (Although with proper Techstream it shouldn’t be rocket science.)
     
  13. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    941
    861
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    With the previous generations of Prius a new key fob could be programmed without the need for Techstream -- by doing "the chicken dance". A series of actions like turn the car on, open the door a number of times, lock/unlock a number of times... or something like that. (it's been a while)
    But starting with Gen-3 (2010) fob programming has required Techstream. (or other software used by a locksmith)
     
  14. Baryonyx

    Baryonyx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    21
    12
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    And if course mine is for the 2010! Xb

    The local locksmith says if I can get my current second-hand key "flashed" they can reprogram it for $50. Currently though he can't until it's been erased. Is that accurate?
     
  15. JayRock_PHX

    JayRock_PHX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    83
    28
    0
    Location:
    phoenix az
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three

    The only way to reprogram a “used” fob is to either

    1- Virginize the keyfob with a certain process.

    2- do an all keys lost and reprogram existing fob and the used fob you are trying to add. This requires a seed process also known as a reseed.

    This is THE only way. Regardless of what people say.
     
  16. Baryonyx

    Baryonyx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    21
    12
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    What does "virginizing" it entail? It's my last option before buying a whole new fob. :C
     
  17. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    3,821
    2,271
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It erases everything, makes it blank.

     
  18. Baryonyx

    Baryonyx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    21
    12
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hm, I wonder if there's anyone nearby that can do that. Or maybe someone in this forum does (I think I read that in a thread here).

    Oof.I just remembered the dealership never gave us the correct blade key, so we don't have a single copy of that one. :X
     
Loading...