Adding a AX-DSP

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by KellieB123, Oct 9, 2018.

  1. KellieB123

    KellieB123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three

    I'm trying to add a AX-DSP with an after market amp, keeping the factory head unit (with Nav not JBL, 2012 V) I've got the correct T harness (TY2). What is stumping me is where do I add the speaker feed from the amp back into the head unit. Does anyone have any experience with this DSP? I am overwhelmed by all the wires in back.
    Also I pulled the all the module plugs except what's coming out of the T harness from the AX-DSP trying to narrow it down and still have speaker output. I'm confused. The attached photos are of the link coming out of the DSP and of the back of the head unit. The circle on the head unit is the modules coming from the AX-DSP. Screenshot_2018-10-09-17-58-22.jpeg Screenshot_2018-10-09-17-58-53.jpeg

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  2. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    1,593
    501
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Maybe I'm confused about what you're saying but the "speaker feed" is what?

    Usually you have pre-amp outputs that go to the amp on the deck/head unit and the speaker wires come out of the amp and direct to the speakers, thus making the speaker wires coming out of the head unit no longer needed...

    Which is why I'm puzzled why you're trying the send the "speaker Feed" out of the amp and back into the head unit?
     
  3. KellieB123

    KellieB123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Well maybe I said that wrong. What I'm trying to do is find the speaker wires coming into the back of the head unit and connecting there thus avoiding the hassle of new wires to the speakers.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  4. TK Rocket

    TK Rocket Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    713
    1,606
    0
    Location:
    Socal son
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Persona
    My solution to using the OEM head unit will always be:

    1. Remove it

    2. set it on fire

    3. pick up a aftermarket unit
     
  5. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    1,593
    501
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    That's helpful in terms of establishing your position, but most of us have no idea what our options are for a Prius stereo upgrade. Have you found any threads on here that can help us? Do you have any examples of upgrades that'd get us inspired?

    As in anyone can talk negative about anything, but people who take it to the next level and show what's way, way better are way less than worthless when it comes to helping and inspiring.
     
    KellieB123 likes this.
  6. TK Rocket

    TK Rocket Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    713
    1,606
    0
    Location:
    Socal son
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Persona
  7. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    1,593
    501
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    How about helping the original post? Lol...

    Watching the video you posted right now... And as someone who's been collecting pro audio recording studio gear for more than a decade, I still don't understand why people get ripped off by such awful low quality gear?

    But I guess if you love your car stereo volume so much you can't even hear the crappy sound quality caused by, among other things, the sound of your license plate rattling this all makes perfect sense.

    Or maybe if you want to know what it's about to run some pro audio in your car and realize the savings despite signal-to-noise issues? This is what I was touring in a decade ago... :)
     

    Attached Files:

    KellieB123 likes this.
  8. KellieB123

    KellieB123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I particularly like the packing tape amplifier mount.


    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  9. KellieB123

    KellieB123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    So onto what I think the solution is.
    Locate the the 4 pairs of speaker wires coming into the head unit, pull the pins and join the wires coming from the amp.
    Does this seem correct?
    I've called Axxess / Metra tech support but they're no help.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  10. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    1,593
    501
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If you remove the speakers first, you can see what color the wires are on the speaker end of it, which will most likely make it easy to find the wires on the head unit end of it... Unless of course they changed wire colors of 'em via a plug somewhere along the circuit, which would be a really mean thing to do.

    Back in the day we would use a small battery on the speaker wires to make a crackling noise thru the speaker to confirm we had the right wires.

    As for using the same wires, that's a mistake if your new amp is pumping significantly more power to the speakers than the head unit pumps to them... It could effect sound quality, or worse case scenario, melt the insulation off the wires and damage the new gear you just bought...
     
  11. KellieB123

    KellieB123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Thank you for a thoughtful reply.
    I'm putting a 4 channel 50 watt /channel Alpine and an active sub. The stock wire seems OK I believe it's 18 ga. So if I believe I have the correct wire I can run current from a battery like a lo-fi tone generator?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  12. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    1,593
    501
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yea... tone generator, continuity tester, circuit tester, etc., whatever.. When I got my first car stereo gig in mid-80's it was my test light, my screwdriver gun, my wire strippers and lots of speaker cable and crimpers.
     
  13. KellieB123

    KellieB123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
Loading...