Adding amplifier to Prius Prime?

Discussion in 'Prime Audio, Electronics, and Infotainment' started by spencetimm, May 20, 2020.

  1. spencetimm

    spencetimm Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    Hi all,

    I am getting ready to install a small amp and upgraded speakers in my Prime. I have a few questions for those who have done it:

    1. The amps I am looking at all have line-level inputs; do I really need some sort of line output converter if I'm getting audio from the factory head unit? I have heard some say that the factory head unit does some equalizing so a LOC will remove that but I'm not sure if its necessary or not. If I can just use the line-level inputs on the amp, that will save a bit of wiring (extra power wire and ground).
    2. Has anyone used the factory speaker wiring? I understand that the dash speakers and door speakers are wired in parallel, which means I need a 2-ohm minimum amp if I am going to use 4 ohm speakers in the dash and door. Otherwise, I could run new wiring, but this seems like much more of a PITA.

    Thanks for the input!
     
  2. spencetimm

    spencetimm Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    To update this - I did not end up installing the amp. I started to try to route the power wire through the firewall and decided it was too much effort for the benefit. I did install new speakers in the front doors (in addition to the upgraded dash speakers) and that made somewhat of a difference. Next, I'm thinking about replacing the head unit with one that has a little more power than the factory unit.
     
  3. rain27

    rain27 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    20
    8
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I’m using the factory speaker wire to the doors. I tapped into it just before it’s wired in parallel with the dash speakers.

    I wasn’t able to get good sound from the factory head unit, so there may be some equalizing there, maybe even volume dependent...not sure.

    Running power wire was a pain but can be done. If you attempt to do it, there’s a dimple in the grommet next to the factory wiring going through the firewall. If you can manage piercing that, you can get wiring through.

    If you find a way to run speaker wire through the door, report back. I haven’t seen anyone run their own speaker wire through the molex in the door. I want to though.
     
Loading...