Adding backup camera to 2012 non-nav Prius 2 with touch screen

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by our1vue, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Our1vue,

    Thanks for replying. That’s what I am hoping because I have not passed the voltage regulator yet so it’s not completed.

    I want to modify the inline voltage regulator but mine looks different than the one in this write up. There’s one resistor instead of two.
    Picture below. Any suggestions?

    IMG_2898.jpg
     
  2. our1vue

    our1vue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    312
    56
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Boywander,
    It looks like you have a 12V camera ? Note the 12V on both sides of the circuit board On ours it has 12V on one side and
    3.3V on the other. Can you connect the camera to a 12V battery and measure the voltage between the red and black wires ?
    I've never seen a real 12V camera.
     
  3. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I did that last night. Powered 12V into the board and measured the output on the 3 wires camera side. It stepped down from 12v to 3.1 volts.
     
  4. our1vue

    our1vue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    312
    56
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Boywander,
    Your regulator had me worried there for a second :). I'm not an EE so I don't know how to modify it. A user by
    the name of Willco Electronics was the one that modified his regulator. Maybe you can PM him ? I went the "build
    your own" regulator route because I thought I could solder 3 components on a circuit board without messing it up.
     
  5. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Update:

    On my inline power regulator, I removed the resistor 220 then soldered on a wire (I used multi strand since I didn’t have single core wire) as in the picture below:

    IMG_3096.jpg

    Power input 12.26v
    IMG_3094.jpg

    Through the regulator the output was on target at 3.26v
    IMG_3090.jpg

    I’m waiting for the snow storm to pass to install it..
     
    #205 boywander, Feb 20, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  6. our1vue

    our1vue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    312
    56
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Boywander,
    Are you planning to power the camera via the headunit ? If that is the case then you need to make sure your regulator
    can turn 6.5 volts into 3.3 volts. Powering via the headunit takes care of the camera detection sequence.
     
    #206 our1vue, Feb 20, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  7. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Removing that resistor makes the regulator dump out 3.26v regardless of the input being 12v or 7.7v
    Or 6.4v. See photos:

    IMG_3101.jpg

    IMG_3100.jpg

    IMG_3097.jpg

    The output is the same 3.26v

    IMG_3102.jpg

    It should work with 3.26v close enough to 3.5v
     
  8. our1vue

    our1vue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    312
    56
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    boywander,
    Sounds good. I just wanted to know if you tested it with 6.5V as the input. I think the cameras are 3.3V so an output of
    3.26 is perfect.
     
  9. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I hope the it will work too.. I will try the headliner route
     
  10. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
  11. our1vue

    our1vue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    312
    56
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    boywander,
    I seem to remember someone ordered pins from somewhere that didn't work. Not saying that yours won't work,
    but if things aren't working, check the connection between the male and the female pins.
     
  12. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Thanks for the tip. The only thing that is holding me up is the pins. Because I want a clean install at the headliner and so it’s going to take longer. I just ordered a dozen of the female from a seller in Japan. Hopefully it’ll come by next weekend via EMS.
     
  13. boywander

    boywander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    23
    6
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Got the package from Japan today.

    IMG_3323.jpg

    IMG_3320.jpg

    I can tell from the packaging that they take pride in shipping these tiny terminal ends taped in that box inside the envelope.
     
Loading...