1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Advice needed: Buying a Prius for road trip

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by tiger001, Sep 13, 2021.

1. tiger001

tiger001 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all,

As a graduation present to me and my partner this December, I'd like to buy a prius and travel around the entire USA in the car.

I'm looking for advice on:
    1. Which prius model to get?
    2. For the chosen model above, what is the maximum amount of miles the car should have?
    3. Any other red flags to look out for?
    4. Tips for anyone planning a long road trip in the prius?

Lastly, as a graduate, I'm pretty broke.
    Therefore, i'm currently looking at a maximum of $8k for the prius (so probably a gen 2/3), and a maximum of 1-2k for self built additions and customizations.

Thank you in advance for any advice you may offer!

2. jrdamien

jrdamien Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    1. Gen 2. But that's a personal preference based on familiarity.
    2. That's relative to the specific vehicle and how it was driven. 200k commuter miles that has been well maintained could be similar to 120k that has been rode hard and not cared for. Service records tell the tale.
    3. Get an OBD tester and an app (Dr Prius) and test the battery before you buy it.
    4. You have 8' of bed length with the passenger seats down.

3. JohnPrius3005

JohnPrius3005 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Find a deal to rent a new car with unlimited miles from Hertz. Pick up and drop off the car at the same place. If you have any breakdowns anywhere you can just get a replacement car.

4. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    jerrymildred likes this.
  5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base