1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Advice on 2012 Prius Plug in

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by rsachoc, Jun 4, 2018.

1. rsachoc

rsachoc New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hi there, thanks for the awesome forum. I'm a newbie, having never owned a hybrid vehicle before. I've done lots of research thanks to this forum and found a potential candidate for a Prius. It's a 2012 Prius Base with 100k miles (high I know), but at 8.9k seems like a good deal. I've checked the VIN and it came back clean, and have also registered on the Toyota site to check the service history.

A couple questions on this:

1) All servicing appears to have been done between new and Dec 2015, with nothing really substantial having been done according to the records (the 12v was replaced in Dec 2015)
    2) Front brakes were replaced at 46k, which seems strange as reading on here they seem to last a long time
    3) There's a gap between Dec 2015 and Feb 18, where the vehicle added around 50k miles and in Feb 18 a NJ state inspection was done
    4) At the same time, the following was listed on the ticket
    "RECOMMENDATIONS IN ORDER OF IMPORTANCE ~|~RECOMMENDATIONS IN ORDER OF IMPORTANCE ~|~TIRE ROTATION, WIPERS, AIR FILTER AND CABIN FILTER, COOLANT SERVICE, TRANSMISSION SERVICE, TIRE LIGHT IS FLASHING, THROTTLE BODY SERVICE ~|~COMPLETED RECOMMEDATIONS FOR CUSTOMER"

But it appears that no action was taken as there was not a charge, so I'm assuming the current owner didn't do any of the recommendations.

So my question really, is there anything I should be overly worried about?

Thanks in advance!

Burna J likes this.
  2. rsachoc

rsachoc New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Bump, would really appreciate some input!

3. RCO

RCO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A