1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Advise on 2012 Prius with 94K miles

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by imanony, Nov 19, 2022.

1. imanony

imanony New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    hey folks, newbie here (just joined). I'm looking for a gen3 Prius for my daughter who will be getting her license next month. I found one 2012 Prius 4 with almost 94K miles, single owner, well maintained car. I was able to negotiate it down to 15K + TTL which comes out to around 17.5K. Not able to decide if I should pull the trigger or wait since prices are going down. I can wait another couple of months but don't want to wait if I find a good car. What do you guys think? Are there any issues to watch out for 2012 model? Its 10 years already so it may require hybrid battery change and I dont know if they were replaced on this car or not but most likely not. I also read about head gasket issues with gen3.
    Thanks, guys, for reading.

2. ASRDogman

ASRDogman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Ouch! $15,000 is a LOT for a 10 year old Prius.
    You should wait, as long as your can. Hopefully, you can find a much better price.
    Very hard to day about the hybrid battery. My 2010 was "put in service" in November 2009.
    I've run the Prolong system twice. Last year and a few weeks ago. Seems like new.

Grit likes this.
  3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    she should look at a gasser like camry/corolla, etc. gen 3 are ticking time bombs

Grit likes this.
  4. Grit

Grit Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Saving gas cost a lot of money.

imanony likes this.
  5. imanony

imanony New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four