1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

After changing 06 prius 12 volt battery, gas gauge has one blinking bar

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by erb8951, Nov 25, 2018.

1. erb8951

erb8951 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hey Guys, this is my first time posting to this site but have used it sucessfully many times for the last 6 years with great success! I need some help in figuring out why before I replaced my 12 volt battery, my gas guage working fine with a full tank of gas showing on the guage, but after installing the new battery and making all the connections , the gas guage flashes one bar. I checked the 3 connecting plugs on the positive post and re-check with the same results. I tried unplugging the positive cable connector for several minutes with the same results. I've checked all the forums and can't find anything like this problem. Any help would be appreciated. Also does anyone know what the single wire plug is and the multi- wire plug going to compenent next to the 12 volt battery is? Thanks in advance!!

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If you bought an Optima battery, that's likely the problem... Return it! They're junk batteries... But if your new 12v is fine and there's nothing wrong with the wiring/connections, the always problematic gas gauge calibration will likely resolve itself after a cycle or two of filling up.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

not sure if this is it, but try searching 'gas gauge reset' for directions.

but maybe it's just the leftover unconnected wires?

PriusCamper likes this.
  4. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring