Aftermarket head unit for model 2 2016 Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by freakinfreak, May 5, 2016.

  1. Gas Mizer

    Gas Mizer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    129
    37
    2
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Are you able to access the vehicle's factory menus with that head unit?
     
  2. Gas Mizer

    Gas Mizer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    129
    37
    2
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Nevermind. I just seen the post on the previous page. :) Thank you.
     
  3. GadgetVirtuoso

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    64
    34
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Looks awesome. I think this is the unit I will be buying or whatever the newer model is when I end up finally buying.
     
  4. calbruc

    calbruc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    10
    0
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Has anybody replaced a JBL head unit?

    Crutchfield was of the opinion that nothing fit my vehicle last time I checked. Is this due to the amp? Would it be possible to put in a new head unit if you swapped out the amp?
     
  5. GadgetVirtuoso

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    64
    34
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  6. calbruc

    calbruc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    10
    0
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  7. GadgetVirtuoso

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    64
    34
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Change car stereos for something else and you'll find lots of models. I chose in-dad DVD receivers for example.
     
  8. calbruc

    calbruc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    10
    0
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Nope. "In-dash DVD receivers" are a subset of the car stereos category. It is telling me NO car stereos fit my vehicle. If I switch it to a non-JBL version, I get options.

    You have yours set for a Gen 4?

    Screenshot_20180710-190635.png
     
  9. GadgetVirtuoso

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    64
    34
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I selected your year and stereo and was able to select the same stereos that I selected for my Two without JBL & Nav.
     
  10. calbruc

    calbruc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    10
    0
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Oh, okay. Did you get my year from my profile? That was my old car. Got a 2016 Four a couple weeks ago, haven't updated the profile.

    Still curious if anyone with a Gen 4 and JBL knows anything about upgrading the head unit/amp/speakers.

    The sound through BT isn't great and trying to navigate music on a USB stick is pretty atrocious.
     
  11. Fourier

    Fourier New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    1
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two Eco
    Look up an accessory called AmpPRO 4 for Prius. It lets you preserve all your console and steering unit functionality but with digital out so you add your own high performance amplifier.

    I wish I could use it mine, but I bought the stock radio thinking why pay for JBL upgrade when I'm going to rip it out anyway? The stock radio has only analog out and adding an amp after added too much hiss and distortion. Reading through the thread now for ways to replace the head unit while retaining backup camera, etc.
     
    RCO likes this.
  12. Gas Mizer

    Gas Mizer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    129
    37
    2
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I replaced mine with a Maestro setup through Crutchfield and everything works just like it came that way from the factory.
     
  13. GadgetVirtuoso

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    64
    34
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I got the Pioneer AVH-W4400NEX installed today. One step closer to being completely wireless. If only I could find a Qi charger that could charge the iPhone X while using navigation and not lose power. So far I have tried a half dozen different ones and none can keep up.
     
  14. liquidtenmillion

    liquidtenmillion Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    218
    156
    0
    Location:
    Easley, SC
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Hey anyone who used the Maestro, when you use the right Dpad on the steering wheel to cycle through the center upper factory display(with the HSI and stuff) what do you see? Are you just missing the page for navigation, or is it blank, or corrupted?

    Also, has anyone been able to keep Siriusxm for models that came with a tuner without having to replace the tuner?
     
    #94 liquidtenmillion, Sep 19, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  15. Gas Mizer

    Gas Mizer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    129
    37
    2
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I have the One, so no nav anyways. Did you update the firmware, per the instructions?
     
  16. liquidtenmillion

    liquidtenmillion Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    218
    156
    0
    Location:
    Easley, SC
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    I'm actually at the research/purchasing stage, just curios what that screen looks like. Do you still/have ever had the compass screen on the MFD at the top?
     
  17. Gas Mizer

    Gas Mizer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    129
    37
    2
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    One
    No, no compass. I the deck I replaced it with has one, but I never use it.
     
  18. liquidtenmillion

    liquidtenmillion Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    218
    156
    0
    Location:
    Easley, SC
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    So I've finished my install, and I'd like to share what I bought/how it went and a few gotchas I ran into.

    So I purchased the following:
    Pioneer AVIC-W8400NEX(the higher end version of the w4400nex referenced in previous pages)
    Maestro RR (to retain car features, aux input, backup camera, steering wheel inputs, headlight/lock/window settings)
    ADS-HRN-RR-TO2 (harness to connect maestro to car , and car+maestro to radio)
    Metra 40-LX11 (antenna adapter for stock antenna)
    Metra AX-TOYUSB (to keep stock USB port)
    TOYK932GB (adapter to fill space around new radio)
    SiriusXM SXV300v1 (for satellite radio)
    USB and HDMI extension cables(didn't need USB extension, radio came with it)

    I did my own wiring, I did not make use of crutchfield's ready harness where they will connect the wiring for you. It is definitely worth the $25 though and next time I would do it. My harness looks ugly and is hard to work with, though it works fine. I saw a post earlier saying that you couldn't keep your backup camera with crutchfield's "premium" installation hardware. That is incorrect as of today, if you buy the premium installation hardware you get pretty much everything I listed here and will retain backup camera. They even flash the maestro and the ready harness will wire the TO2 in.

    Some things I ran into:

    The TO2 harness instructions say to connect the red/white/yellow AV cables into the receiver. This made my head unit think it was receiving video, and just shows a black screen. To keep the AUX port, only plug in red and white and it will switch from A/V to AUX.

    There is a blue wire attached to the antenna adapter. You plug this into the blue wire coming from the RADIO, not from the TO2 harness. You leave the TO2 harness unplugged at the blue wire.

    Contrary to Crutchfield's site, my 2017 Prius with nav without JBL IS compatible with the SAT TO2 adapter. This means once I purchase it I can make use of the stock XM and GPS antenna instead of the ones that came with the units that are sitting on my dashboard right now. However, it seems that the SXV300 XM antenna is far better than the stock one, so I'm not sure what to do.

    The navigation/compass screen still exists on the top MFD, it is just an entirely black screen. Radio information still shows up on the MFD, switching sources doesn't work to my knowledge, but I hardly ever do it. Scanning does work.

    Backup camera, though it is the same camera, looks significantly better on this head unit.


    Let me know if you have any questions. I'll post some pics later.
     
    #98 liquidtenmillion, Sep 26, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2018
    Jamesb93612 and Gas Mizer like this.
  19. Gas Mizer

    Gas Mizer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    129
    37
    2
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Yeah, I bought all the goodies Crutchfield offered and everything plugged in and worked flawlessly.
     
  20. jerryxsara

    jerryxsara New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    21
    2
    0
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Did you connect the OBDII connector to your vehicle for Maestro RR installation?

    The OBDII is located near the parking brake and it’s pretty far from the dash, and we will need to occupy the port, which means we need to unplug it when technicians need to use it.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...