1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Air in Coolant System? Replaced Coolant Control Valve Issues Refiling

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by YoungPup, Apr 22, 2024.

1. YoungPup

YoungPup New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Limited
    a bit stressed. I replaced the coolant control valve although I don't believe I had to. A few minutes after I had one of the main tubes disconnected, all of the coolant started flowing out. I filled a huge pan under the car.

The issues is I'm not sure if the coolant system is pumping/flowing with the new valve.

When I tried to refill the reserve tank, it would only let me do a little bit. So I put the coolant in the other fill cap and it just feels like there is air in the system, not flowing and running too hot!

Kindly, is there a video how to fill the coolant system properly? And a way to confirm the pump/coolant system si working? I'm a mechanic and an engineer, very new to the Prius world.

2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base