Alexa just sits there...

Discussion in 'Prime Audio, Electronics, and Infotainment' started by pbasch, Jun 27, 2020.

  1. pbasch

    pbasch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    30
    6
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I got the latest entune update with Alexa. I have an Amazon Prime account, so I signed in, turned on the car, and the Alexa dot pops up on the screen! And sits there. I touch the dot, it flashes for a fraction of a second. I say Alexa over and over and ... absolutely nothing. Any notions? Thanks!
     
  2. blizzardgal

    blizzardgal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    12
    6
    0
    Location:
    IN
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Make sure your microphone is enabled for the app
     
  3. pbasch

    pbasch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    30
    6
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Thanks. I think I have done that. But, by "the app" do you mean Entune, which has the Alexa feature, or do you mean the Alexa app? I actually downloaded and installed the Alexa app also, and also gave it permissions and it made no difference. Either way, I think I've given it permissions.
     
  4. Fleetfootfarms

    Fleetfootfarms New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    XLE AWD-e
    I’m not an expert, but I have to pull up the special Alexa for Toyota app on my phone in order for the Alexa app to work in the car. So if I don’t do that before I start, I can’t really use Alexa for that trip.
     
  5. t_newt

    t_newt Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    95
    117
    0
    Location:
    94087
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    This is one of those 'did you plug it in' questions: Did you push the voice button on the steering wheel?
     
  6. blizzardgal

    blizzardgal Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    12
    6
    0
    Location:
    IN
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    This might sound odd, but one thing I have noticed is that I have to turn up the volume to hear alexa response. Yesterday I found myself in your position when asking a question. I was asking a question and not getting an answer over and over again and my wife said I think it is answering and maybe you just need to turn up the volume. I did and there it was answering my question. Duh. When you open the Entune app and it says connected to your car and your microphone is allowed permission. It should work.
     
    CraigM likes this.
  7. Fearless Flyer

    Fearless Flyer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    8
    4
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two


    I'm also one of legions with the latest Entune "Mandatory Update" that added Alexa and replaced "Slacker Radio" with "LIveXLive"(pronounced Live By Live). Note that "LiveXLive" is the new name for Slacker Radio and you continue to use your Slacker ID and Password for LiveXLive.

    Spent > 1.5 hrs with great guy Jason at Entune since once I downloaded the update I was unable to get ANY Entune functions including AM/FM or anything else. I had to re-link my IHeart and Slacker(now Live XLive) first. Then linked my Alexa(had to get my current Alexa ID/Password).

    NOTE: Entune "Help" pages haven't been updated. It currently states Alexa was only available for 2020 Prius Primes but Entune Reps have an internal memo that it will also work with 2018-2019 Primes and I in fact got Alexa to work yesterday on an inconsistent basis. The best myself and then Entune Rep could figure is we had to first go to the App Suite, then select the Alexa option, then press the circle/button for the Alex App to make verbal ALexa commands. At best yesterday, Entune response was just totally inconsistent in response.

    2nd Note: The newest Entune update will NOT work for older phones. Entune rep told me it requires operating systems:
    • IPhones: IOS 12.0 or higher
    • Android: Systems 6.0 or higher (my Straightalk Galaxy 6 uses 5.2 so won't work with Entune. Fortunately I also had an iPhone 6 using a IOS 12.0 operating system so got back my Entune functions using that; If you have an Android system less than 6.0 you probably aren't getting many new App updates and the phone is destined to become inoperable soon anyways.
    Although able access/use Alexa yesterday, 6/27/20, I'm getting odd messages about making sure my phone is connected, which it is, so assume the newest Entune update has bugs that still need to be worked out. Navigation to Alexa is a "P-I-A" anyways do doubt I'll used it much. This is the time I had a Tesla which provides so much better software updates and supports. WIth Toyota it's a like dumped, not warning, go figure it out yourself.
     
  8. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    278
    207
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Guess I’m lucky. Updated Entune on my iPhone, ran the update on the MFD, did a reboot of MFD (holding audio button down), and tested by selecting Alexa from the apps screen and just saying “Alexa” - worked perfectly for a local business search. Although I ended up getting the Alexa app for my phone, I did not have it initially when I did this test. Of course, make sure you link to your Amazon account in the Entune phone app - that’s required.
     
  9. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    164
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    For me, this update with Alexa has been horrible. Alexa only responds if you have the Entune open and visible on the iPhone. And even then some times it fails to recognize the Entune app is already open on the phone and the screen keeps telling me to make sure the app is visible on the phone. If I have to jump through hoops to get it working, I rather disable it, so I did.

    There is another even worse side effect to have Alexa active on the car: every time I start the Prime, I normally listen to Bluetooth audio from any app on my iPhone. Seconds later the Alexa chime comes up and lowered the volume of my Bluetooth source and then I have to increase the volume to the max on the car to be able to listen what’s playing on my phone. My phone volume is also maxed out but still not loud enough because Alexa reduces the volume permanently. And if I call Alexa nothing happens anyway. So I solved this by turning off the Hands Free Listening in the Alexa settings menu in the car. However, the feature turns itself back on eventually.

    Yet another bug I found is that sometimes my phone is playing Bluetooth audio and suddenly all audio is stopped even though the player timer still counts showing it is still playing, but nothing comes out of the speakers. The only workaround is to go to the sources menu, select another source, like FM and then switch back to Bluetooth and then the audio returns. This problem never happened before the update. It’s a horrible update that I wish never came.


    iPhone ?
     
  10. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    278
    207
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Yeah, discovered that today - when it says it has to display on the phone, it literally means it has to be open and selected (displayed on screen) to work, not just open in the background. Wth, Toyota?
     
  11. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    164
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I can understand it may be out of their hands to get it working properly, but then why release a half-working feature? I really don’t want to be bothered with it so I unlinked it from my account in Entune. Hopefully that will fix the sound issues I’m having.


    iPhone ?
     
  12. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    278
    207
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Yep. IPhone 8.
     
  13. mveras1972

    mveras1972 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    164
    56
    3
    Location:
    New Philachussetts
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I have a 2017 Prime. If it doesn’t work on my car, why did they send me the update? And why does it partially work? I have the latest iOS 13.5.1 and an iPhone XR.


    iPhone ?
     
  14. possiblymaybe

    possiblymaybe Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    5
    2
    0
    Location:
    Woodridge, NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    @mveras1972 I also have an iPhone X and agree, the buggy update is so awful, I wish there was a way to roll it back!
     
Loading...