1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

ALL MUST Read this, PLEASE Make sticky!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by TGroup, Aug 31, 2019.

1. TGroup

TGroup New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I have a 2008 Prius and was out of state and the car just DIED!! All went dead. Lights worked, dome light worked etc but nothing else did. Had no idea what to do. Hybrid battery has been rebuilt, twice! All services done. I've worked on cars my whole life. Used to manage a 58 bay service center so I'm not new to this arena. However, I am new to hybrids!

I looked at all I could think of. Tried the master computer reset, disconnected the 12v battery terminals (both need to be removed), even tried to use the key to reset the car in the door lock. Googled it and no luck. LUCKLY I had been in contact with Jim, TMR-JWAP Called him late at night and thank God he answered.

He had an idea of what it was. Low and behold, he was right. I think all need to be made aware of this Ludacris design flaw of the car so you know what to do if it happens to you.

SO, if your car goes completely dead as mine did. Open the hood and go to the fuse box on the drivers side. Near the fender is a row of like 4 small fuses. The second down from the top is a 15 amp one. Pull it out to see if it is blown. If it is, this is the problem. Unless you have used it there is a spare in the lower left part of the fuse box. DON'T PUT IT IN YET! What has happened is the hybrid water pump has shorted or gone bad. Look down at the bottom of the fuse box just above and to the left of the headlight if you are standing in the front of the car and you will see the water pump. There is a plug with 2 wires on the right side of it. Do what you can to get the plug removed.