Am having issues with my sks

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Dammy, Apr 6, 2021.

  1. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    My sks not working but the fob button is working.
    I also discover that the central lock is not working when engage my gear in drive. Any help to solve this problem.
    Have check the key button under the dash at the driver side, it at good position. The fob battery is new.
    Am unable to lock or to unlock the door without pressing the fob. Any way out of this?
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    91,455
    41,193
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    how is the 12v health?
     
  3. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    12v battery was changed 8 months ago. And am still having 12.2v before starting vehicle.
     
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    91,455
    41,193
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    12.2 is low, do you have a charger?
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  5. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sunday driver DIY’r

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,667
    30,528
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    It takes to post #4 here, before someone finally spells out SKS:

    Smart Key System

    I concur; 12 volt sounds neglected.
     
  6. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes, but if 12.2 is low what is the recommended volt?
     
  7. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sunday driver DIY’r

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,667
    30,528
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    An in-the-pink battery would show at least 12.6, 12.4~12.6 is so-so, lower is action-needed-soon territory.
     
  8. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Thanks, i will check it again and charge it if needed tomorrow.
    But what other things can cause the problem? except the 12v battery.
     
  9. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    91,455
    41,193
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    a load test must be performed when having problems. batteries with the same resting voltage can have different voltages under load. no way to know the health without one.
    you can find a simple headlight test on line.

    other causes could be in the wiring. i hope it is not
     
  10. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sunday driver DIY’r

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,667
    30,528
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Yes. Any retailers selling batteries these days will more’n likely have a pro-level electronic load tester, and will check your battery for free.

    Dealerships too, but they’re more inclined to ding you for about $50~100?

    you can DIY test with something like Solar BA9.
     
  11. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,262
    2,840
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    While I agree will everyone that 12.2 V does indicate you need to charge your battery, I do not believe it is the cause of your SKS issues.

    If you measure at the 12 V aux plug in the console with a voltmeter as you start the car and it does not dip below 9.5V, then the 12 V battery is not your issue.

    However, if you want more of a long life out of your 12V you need to be charging it regularly to keep it above 12.6V.
    Unless you know for sure this is an option (and I do not know of any region that had that as an option) that is installed, the Gen 2 does not even have that feature.
    Have the fobs ever worked correctly? Do you know for sure that these are the original fob supplied with the car new?

    From where was the car imported into Nigeria?
     
  12. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    It imported from USA
     
  13. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    That's what i can't say for sure. Cause the fob button was damage when the vehicle came in, so my mind did not go to the sks until i replaced the fob button.
     
    #13 Dammy, Apr 18, 2021 at 2:24 AM
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2021 at 11:50 PM
  14. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,262
    2,840
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    This feature is not available on this generation of (NA) Prius.
    You most likely will need to do a reseed and then re-add your current key fobs.
     
  15. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    OK thanks
     
  16. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    IMG_20210417_073300_2.jpg
    I saw this on the data list
     
  17. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,262
    2,840
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I presume you are drawing our attention to the highlighted parameters? I don't know specifically what they do or should do, but the D-Door Touch Sensor and P-Door Touch Sensor ones would relate to the driver's and passenger's door sensors respectively. My guess that these should be ON.

    Possibly P/D-Door Trigger Switch should be ON too.

    Tr/B-Door Lock Switch (relates to the trunk/back door??) should be ON??

    I have no guess for what to do with Key Cancel Switch.

    If it were me I switch them on now at a time and see what happens.

    YMMV.
     
  18. Dammy

    Dammy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Nigeria
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes i know it should be on, but i trying switch it on. There's no option to do that.
    Have tried to reset the tranponder ecu it doesn't reset, have tried to reset the smart ecu it doesn't reset also.
    What am planing to do next is to erase the fob with me and reprogram it back maybe it would work.
     
  19. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    531
    228
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    That's a data list- I would expect each bit to change when that particular switch is manipulated. (ie, push the lock button on the driver's outside handle and one of those should change to ON while it's pressed).
    I wonder which line is for the SKS disable switch under the dash?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  20. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,262
    2,840
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Oh, true so it is. That makes a whole lot more sense. I don't mess around a whole lot in TS and generally, once you've changed a setting, you never do it again.
    WAG, maybe it's the mystery Key Cancel Switch parameter??

    To make changes you need to go back to the 'System Select' tab then you should see a 'Customize Setting' button. Click that and see what options you get. There should be 'Wireless Door Lock', 'Door Lock', and 'Entry& Start' amongst others to choose from.

    In 'Wireless Door Lock' there is the option 'Wireless Control'. Mine is set to ON, is yours?
     
Loading...