Am I the only one who think Entune is total garbage?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by benalexe, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. ImeanGreen

    ImeanGreen Prius v Five BP Brigade #236

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    547
    70
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If you are using your phone as an audio source or using Pandora, make sure your audio source is set to Bluetooth. Even if the phone is connected, it is used for phone calls/receiving calls. I believe this is a user error on your part. Just try that first and report back. Got no problem with mine with Samsung Galaxy 3 with jelly bean
     
  2. Zephyr7

    Zephyr7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    301
    28
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Siri is a odd ball, a basic handsfree carkit from Parrot/Nokia with PTT (Push To Talk) will get Siri going.
    All it does in Bluetooth world is open up a channel to get the voice data over, however there is nothing from Phone back to the unit. The phone would be doing its own thing and would not communicate the information back to Radio. In those after market car kits u can get Siri to call someone system will register the call. however if U get siri to get an address that information stay on the phone. is that what u want?
     
  3. FriarNurgle

    FriarNurgle Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    138
    53
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Basically yes. I don't see a reason to have the extra bells and whistles Toyota packaged with the blue tooth capability in the car. Why does the car need know my phone's contact list? Why would I need to use the dash touch screen to make a call? It's not even Apple specific as Android voice activation is just as acceptable as Siri for getting your phone to do this or that. I just don't understand the bloat ware and simple lack of functionality to activate voice commands on my iPhone (Siri).

    I still have my visor mount Jabra Cruiser. It had one button for pick up, hang up, and hold it longer for Siri activation. Why this isn't a freaking standard feature for a 2013 model car is beyond me. Love to see someone with much more tech/geek skills come out with a hack or something to reprogram one of the bluetooth buttons to activate voice control for your phone.
     
  4. freedomfighter

    freedomfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    1) Google phone. Stock 4.1.2 unmodified, unrooted, bought over the counter unlocked. The carrier has never had a chance to install anything.

    3) Um... how about access the filesystem and bring up a list of mp3s to play just like the iPhones do? A simple file scan would work just like when a USB drive is plugged in - no special drivers needed. Don't know what all that technobabble is but I assume S3 is the Samsung Galaxy S3 (and the exact same question that you asked me applies: which carrier? (as they are the ones who add apps)), must have some kind of iPhone-lookalike app installed? Would you happen to know what that app is?
     
  5. freedomfighter

    freedomfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks, that is useful information.
     
  6. Zephyr7

    Zephyr7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    301
    28
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I have the Google Nexus 4 phone with OS 4.2.2 (ATT network), when I insert the device the system detects it as a USB device and allows me to browse and play music. I am not running any App. On the phone it shows USB media device.

    You OS is dated for a google Nexus phone.
     
  7. Shdyad

    Shdyad Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    5
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    III
    First, my phone is a Samsung Galaxy SII.

    I signed up for Pandora simply because the car had this feature and I wanted to try it out. (Same with OpenTable and MovieTickets.) I had not ever used Pandora (or the other two) before that. I had to load it onto my home computer to set up the account, and I agree it works better that way.

    However, since my phone plan includes unlimited data, I don't intend to continue satellite radio beyond the 3 month trial period, and I'm often dissatisfied with what's on local radio, Pandora has been worthwhile on longer drives. It takes a long time to connect each time the car starts, though, so unless I'm bored I don't usually fiddle with it for short commutes and everyday errand-running.

    I've found that for some reason the Pandora app does not work by itself on my phone. I have no idea why. I got rid of it but the car still draws Pandora through Entune.

    I do not think I would ever agree to pay an Entune fee. I'd just go back to local radio and using a thumb drive.

    Speaking of the other apps, I fiddled around with but have not actually set up dinner reservations or purchased movie tickets through the car, and I'm not sure I ever will. There are not very many restaurants in my area set up with Open Table, anyway... didn't even have my area listed. I did find it useful a couple of times to see what movies were playing where.

    I have no idea why anybody would want to look up stocks while they're driving.

    The Bing app has been somewhat frustrating with glitches so I haven't done much with it yet.
     
  8. Christopher Vaught

    Christopher Vaught New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Five
    Hopefully Toyota wakes up and improves Entune for all users.
     
  9. rsg

    rsg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    64
    7
    0
    Location:
    Harrisburg, NC
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Works fine for me, and any glitches I have are minor.
     
    leegart likes this.
  10. CTitanic

    CTitanic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    153
    21
    0
    Location:
    South Florida, FL, US
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Entune just don't work in all regions, it doesn't work in all phones and that's wrong. Toyota has been ignoring the Windows Phone market and that leave users without part of the features.

    I really feel disappointed with Toyota. They should cover all markets no matter the size.
     
  11. manku

    manku Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    29
    4
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I just traded in my 2011 Prius III w/NAV for a 2013 IV...I assumed the entune would be an upgrade, as most electronics improve over time...WRONG!!!

    I've only had the car 48 hours, but these would be my complaints:

    1. Smaller screen. Why?
    2. No dedicated NAV button...you need to go through APPS, and then press NAV, then press confirm to make sure you don't crash the car while driving. Old car I'd just press the NAV button...pretty simple.
    3. Screen seems really difficult to read in sunlight, especially with sunglasses on.
    4. Haven't even been able to use Entune yet...my phone (Moto X) is 4.4 - Entune doesn't support kit kat yet!

    I'm trying to find anything that is an improvement...nothing so far, but I haven't tried voice controls yet - which I've heard are excellent.

    Rant over.
     
  12. ftl

    ftl Explicator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    1,812
    787
    0
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    2. Hit the voice command button on the steering wheel and say "Show Map".
    3. Turn the brightness all the way up and the contrast all the way down.
     
  13. DaWeav

    DaWeav Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    91
    11
    1
    Location:
    Lemoore, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Wow, 4.4 has been out for a while now. Thanks for letting me know. I guess I'll keep my Samsung S3 (Android 4.3) then since it's always lagging behind the latest android updates even though I've been considering the new Nexus 5. Entune is a must have with the Prius since Bing voice search for Navigation is way better than the built in Nav voice commands.

    Nexus 7 ? 4
     
  14. manku

    manku Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    29
    4
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I drove at night for first time yesterday...I've always dimmed the dashboard/nav on my previous prius....so I tried this time with my new one. Dashboard was fine, but NAV was illegible it was so dark. I hope there is an option to improve this.
     
  15. Zephyr7

    Zephyr7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    301
    28
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Entune is the connected services..
    1. that screen is a carry over from 2012? unless there is a major change the size is not changing in a big way. the 2014 cars with the premium system still have the small screen only better resolution.
    2. Its easier to perform PTT and say "show map"
    4. U can use connected services if your phone allows PAN/DUN without a tethering plan. The turn around is indeed slow.
     
Loading...