Ambient lighting wiring question (basic EE)

Discussion in 'Prius v Accessories and Modifications' started by DidIJustBuyAPrius?!?, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. DidIJustBuyAPrius?!?

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    1
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    Hi team!

    I wanted to give my prius v some ambient lighting and I decided I wanted to do it myself. And for the most part I've been able to get really good results for around 20 dollars and a little bit of time.
    I bought a 16ft rgb 5050 led string, cut it into 6 strip and wired it continuously through the car and under the seats. I hooked it up to an add a fuse and placed it into an empty slot in the fuse box under the dash.

    Here's my issue & question.

    The out of the rgb lights the green consistsantly stays on. This means the red color doesn't come through and the blue is more light blue than anything. Even when I turn the power off of the strip (still receiving power from the car) the green stays on.

    I have read that sometimes this can be due to too much power reaching the leds.

    1.Am I using the add a fuse correctly? Even though it's being inserted into a blank slot do I still need two fuses in the add a fuse? It doesn't work with just 1 fuse in there. In order for it to work there is a 3 amp fuse and a 5 amp fuse does that mean I'm giving it 8 amps?
    2. If I'm using a 3amp fuse, does it matter which empty slot I put it in? Isn't the purpose of it to only let 3 amps through? I didn't see any fuses in there that were under 7.5 any suggestions on which slot is the best for an accessory like this?
    3. Should I use a stepdown converter to get less voltage?


    Some info
    The lights work perfectly when I plug it in to a wall wart just not when getting power from the car/fuse box.
    I have used many different controller boxed for the led strip all with the same result.
    The controller box says input voltage DC12V output current 6 amps max
    I don't want to get power from the cigarette lighter (prefer a cleaner look)



    Thanks everyone for the help!
     
  2. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    6,542
    2,320
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    What's a wall wart? If you're plugging it into a wall outlet, it is AC not DC, unless there is a transformer.

    Regarding the fuses, the bottom fuse in the add a fuse should be whatever original fuse was in the slot. The top fuse for the load you are adding can be anything up to the equivalent of the original fuse, not more.

    It sounds like you have tapped into a fuse that receives power at all times. What you want is a fuse that receives power only when the car is in Ready Mode.

    Merged.

    As long as the LEDs are rated at 12v DC, you shouldn't need a step down transformer. It will draw only as much current as it needs, unless you have a short circuit somewhere in the wiring.

    FYI, the Prius does operate at more than 12v though. In Ready Mode, my Prius voltage is at 14.4v
     
    #2 xliderider, Feb 5, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2016
  3. DidIJustBuyAPrius?!?

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    1
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks for the response!
    These strips are pretty cheap so that's always a possibility.

    It is plugged into a slot that only receives power when the car is on.

    Apparently a wall wart is what you think it is-AC plug that plugs into a wall. I must have picked that up from a brittish messageboard. :)

    Thanks for the info about the add a fuse I think I'll switch around the fuses so the lower amperage is the limiter. I'll update if that worked!
    Thanks again
     
  4. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    1,934
    768
    1
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Fuses don't limit current - they stop current if too much flows through them. Then the fuse is blown and has to be replaced. If the fuses aren't blowing, then the fuses are not the problem. It would help if you drew two sketches of the "system wiring, controllers and leds" both in "wall wart" mode and another for the "in the car" mode. My guess is the "wall wart" is a power supply and it is supplying something other than 12vdc OR there is a basic wiring problem in the "in car" mode. Use of a voltmeter and an amp meter would also determine the differences.
     
Loading...