1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Amsoil vs Mobil 1

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by ScottY, Sep 1, 2006.

1. ScottY

ScottY New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I plan to use extended drain interval after my warranty is up. During warranty, I will use OEM parts and drain interval. So I am studying which oil/filter is best for the job for extended drain interval. Want some expert opinion on this.

Oil:
    According to this website, http://www.lubeoilsales.com/amsoil_vs_mobil1.htm. Amsoil out performs Mobil 1 in all areas. But the site is an Amsoil dealer website, so the test is questionable. I try google, but have no luck coming up with independent source of the comparison.

Filter:
    This picture comes from WHATS THE BEST OIL? thread by ekpolk
    [​IMG]

Construction wise, Mobil 1 seems to be very good. But the filtering media might not be as good as Amsoil's EaO filter's. From Mobil 1's website
    While the Amsoil EaO filter uses FULL synthetic filtering media.
    Amsoil EaO filter construction
    [​IMG]

Amsoil EaO filter spec is 98.7% efficiency @ 15 microns per ISO4548-12. Mobil 1 Extended Performance Oil Filter spec is 99.2% under SAE J1858 Multi-Pass Efficiency Test. Can't really compare these two numbers since they are obtained under different tests. Mobil 1's website did not say what particle size their filter can filter out. Amsoil EaO filter is guaranteed 25,000 miles or one year if used with AMSOIL Synthetic Motor Oil. Mobil 1's Extended Performance oil is guaranteed up to 15,000 miles/1 year, but did not say anything about their oil filter.

For now, I'm leaning towards the Amsoil oil filter. As for the oil, still researching on independent tests. What do the experts think?

2. kDB

kDB New Member

3. egb6550

egb6550 New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(kDB @ Sep 2 2006, 05:50 AM) [snapback]313019[/snapback]</div>