Android 4.4 Prius Headunit

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by JayLn, Nov 20, 2015.

  1. JayLn

    JayLn Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    248
    138
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    anyone tried this head unit?


     
  2. ExMachina08

    ExMachina08 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    72
    22
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Great review. Just an FYI but the latest google maps does allow offline navigation for downloaded areas. Useful if you typically navigate in one city regularly.
     
    Dylan Doxey likes this.
  3. Starbrand

    Starbrand Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    491
    1,494
    0
    Location:
    Westmont, IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    @ncases had it before he de-modded. not sure if he checks PriusChat anymore. I can ask.
     
    Dylan Doxey likes this.
  4. Its Always Sunny

    Its Always Sunny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    24
    7
    0
    Location:
    Newark, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Hey everyone!

    Following this thread as I still hate my OEM navigation unit 2 years on (Still willing to sell if anyone is interested!). I'm going to research these questions right now, but I'll post them here in case anyone knows. And I'll post the answers if I find out! And edit this post if I come up with more questions

    • Can it utilize the existing backup camera?
    • Can I still use the steering wheel buttons?
    • Is the material high quality or will I break a button if I hit a bump and press too hard?
     
  5. Starbrand

    Starbrand Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    491
    1,494
    0
    Location:
    Westmont, IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    check this thread first.
    '11 Toyota Prius Two with Android 4.4.4 Kit Kat Head unit Upgrade! | PriusChat

    The above thread has 18 pages worth of info, so hope that helps. To the first 2 questions, yes. but you need the correct harness for your prius model. It is either 3 outlet or 4. Quality is normal, like with any type of headunit. That's all I know. But from reading thru pages 1-9, looks like people have trouble with correct harnesses being sent and no upgradability after android kitkat 4.4.4. There is also a clear difference between the dual core and quad core models and with screen resolutions not being clearly outlined.

    hope this helps you get started
    :D
     
    Danny and Its Always Sunny like this.
  6. Its Always Sunny

    Its Always Sunny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    24
    7
    0
    Location:
    Newark, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I am actually reading that now! I haven't seen anything about a JBL Prius yet, and while I am good with electronics and connections, I am new to cars. I am confident I can do this myself but I just have to find the proper equipment. The harnesses are the only thing I believe I'm unfamiliar with! Gotta find the correct one, but Google should be helpful :)

    I was looking at Pumpkin(sp?) and I saw it was NOT compatible with Sygic, the seemingly most popular maps app. I see that Google Maps now supports offline(!) navigation but with 1GB of onboard space and no SDCard slot would it be worth it? I need at least 3 states covered.

    EDIT: I see that there IS a spot for an SDCard looking at pictures now. My fault :)
     
    #6 Its Always Sunny, Nov 22, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
    Starbrand likes this.
  7. JayLn

    JayLn Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    248
    138
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    When you buy this just tell the seller you have a JBL upgrade and they will point you on an additional harness that you need to buy,
     
    #7 JayLn, Nov 23, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  8. Its Always Sunny

    Its Always Sunny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    24
    7
    0
    Location:
    Newark, Delaware
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Thanks that's what I ended up doing. They actually said my OEM backup cam would not work.. So I'm pretty disappointed, because I really like it.
     
  9. Dylan Doxey

    Dylan Doxey Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    1,389
    3,447
    92
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm a little skeptical about that. Maybe they mean that it's not a direct plug-n-play, without a little bit of hack-n-splice.
     
  10. JayLn

    JayLn Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    248
    138
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Need some Prius Chat Bay area meet ups to see if anyone has this before I go do it hehe
    It is selling cheap now on ebay for $384
     
    Dylan Doxey likes this.
  11. ncases

    ncases Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    609
    672
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I had this headunit before and all is functional including the backup camera which was an aftermarket one. I had some issues with steering wheel control on and off not functioning properly. Sound wise it's horrible so I decided to invest another $1500 for the amp, speaker and subwoofer. Bluetooth phone connect is just horrible. I will not recommend unless you are willing to sacrifice some functionality. I guess the best alternative is an android/mini ipad holder and sync your ipad to your headunit. Doing this mod will just gives you a headache and some acetaminophen every 6hrs is required having this mod.
     
  12. tangokim

    tangokim Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    35
    38
    0
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Here's my mod if you want to see.

    The stock rom is horrible so I flashed with the new room which makes it better. Bluetooth suck but I don't use phone call so it's for me. I was able to retained oem backup camera with an eBay kit.


    Oem camera in action
     
    clroxas likes this.
  13. Dylan Doxey

    Dylan Doxey Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    1,389
    3,447
    92
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I carelessly bought an aftermarket unit based on the picture and unwittingly bought a WindowsCE unit. It's better than OEM, in some respects. But I want to replace it with an Android unit. @ncases's comment is the first negative comment I've seen about an Android head unit. Does anyone know of one that is awesome!

    Browsing around on Amazon I'm seeing at least five different brands and several models for each one. I'm inclined to favor the YINUO brand because the color matches my interior better than black.


    upload_2015-12-3_23-15-25.png

    (My unfortunate WindowsCE unit was a Pumpkin brand unit that I purchased on ebay.)
     
  14. clroxas

    clroxas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    17
    2
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Most, if not all Ebay units ships from Hong Kong or China. I bought mine from AliExpress and I am very satisfied with the unit. I have not fixed the steering column and back up camera yet (see tangokim's postings). The ELM327 OBD 2 works really well. I have no problem with the bluetooth or WIFI as experienced by some. I flashed the ROM, and I favor the modified ROM over the stock ROM. Tangokim has a video of the modified ROM. Below what I purchased.

    upload_2015-12-4_12-30-17.png
     
    Dylan Doxey likes this.
  15. tangokim

    tangokim Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    35
    38
    0
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    To get oem camera and steering wheel control to work ,you'd need to get the kit on ebay to save you time from creating the step down power for the oem camera power. You'd need to cut two cable from the kit(white) and solder it to the harness(brown) of the head unit. I'd take pic but its raining and cold here in san Jose California. But will do it once i have the chance to help other.
     
  16. clroxas

    clroxas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    17
    2
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Thanks for the advise Tango. It's raining here in San Francisco as well. I have bought the 12v-6v step-down and the 16-pin connector. I'll try it first. I'll get the kit if this doesn't work. I used this posting (Installing aftermarket in-dash GPS unit in a 2015 Prius Two | PriusChat) as guide.
     
  17. SwamppThingg

    SwamppThingg Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    235
    443
    0
    Location:
    Mount Prospect, IL
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I just ordered the quad-core Pumpkin unit and a backup camera.
    I'm going from the base CD player so hopefully this will be a big enough upgrade to warrant the money spent.
    I also hope that there isnt more wiring to do... people are saying plug and play but is that from the fancier models with the OEM screens?
    Because I'm basically coming up from the stone ages here.
     
  18. Johnathan

    Johnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    4
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Burna J likes this.
Loading...